THings to do on the FJ (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Well today I have several things to do on the fj.IThe plans for her are to first make it mechanically relieable then goes the fun upgrades if I have money left over. I have a 2f and recently took the carb off. Taking it by to have it rebuilt at a shop in San Jose. I dont know if they are just going to have to replace gaskets or "professionally" rebuild it. Im new to this and trying to get things done as cheaply as possible. Then I took apart the center arm or steering box and found that the metal plate that surrounds the inner gear has a bent in metal flap that is preventing me from taking it out of the housing. I believe this is the original from 1970. Anyway. To have it done professionally i dont think they are going to get it out any special may just prying like I am. Anyway. While I have the carb out I was wondering if there should be anything I can replace that might need replacing for better fuel efficiancy and reliability. Anyone?

No input on the carb/fuel issue, bit with the center arm I rebuilt a few weeks ago, I just took an old socket that was the right size, put it on the narrow end of the taper and gave it a good tap with a BFH - popped right out.

Nial

Okie,

I know you are trying to be cheap but I would strongly discourage you being cheap with your carb. Send it to Mark (65swb45) or Jim C. (fj40jim). I think they both charge 200 for professional rebuild (the best) and almost everyone says it is the best 200 spent. Not sure what you are going to spend with your shop but would not be surprised if you spent about 100-150 and they did not even get close to the quality you will get with these guys. The carb is such a key piece of this beautiful machine do not cut this corner. Do it right the first time and will not have to do it again for a long time.....

Good Luck

:cheers: