Builds The Baba Yaga Build (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello all and thank you for this forum.

I picked up my first Cruiser last night on trade for my pickup truck. My nephews picked out a name for it, the Baba Yaga. Any John Wick fans will get the reference. I always wanted a Land Cruiser, but never tripped over the right one. I'm literally in this one for no money out of pocket and I'm pretty happy about that. This will be a bit pic heavy out of the gate. I need advice as I'm new to this vehicle and have the wrench turning ability of a radish.

It's got a few miles on it. Just under 280,000.

Pics to follow. Please comment on what you see and make suggestions.

IMG_0314.jpg

I didn't have a lot of time to crawl around underneath, but it looks pretty clean and rust free.
IMG_0338.jpg
IMG_0338.jpg
IMG_0339.jpg

To my extreme surprise, while reviewing the paperwork, the timing belt service with water pump, both UCAs with ball joints, and both LCAs with ball joints were installed at 273000. That's a load of work that I don't have to worry about.

Here are some things which I do need to address in the near future:

1-Baseline the fluids.
I'm changing to Mobil 1 Synthetic Oil as the prior owner used conventional. I have Mobil in all my vehicles and am a big fan. I plan to drain and fill the front diff, rear diff, and transfer case and replace with Mobil synthetic as well.

2-Refresh the suspension. It rides like a rubber duck in a hurricane. My current plan after doing a ton of reading on Mud is to go with OEM shocks all the way around with OME 2865 coils and new sway bar links and bushings.
What I need to know from the experts is should I replace the torsion bars as well? I don't mind doing it if it's a good idea. If so, which bars should I choose with the above suspension parts?