The "ABC"s of fire extinguishers (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
With the build of my Land Cruiser more or less complete for now, I find myself feeling the need for a fire extinguisher. I recently installed a winch which directly connects to the battery. I thought to myself, what if this thing shorts out and starts a fire? I have NO means of putting it out, especially an electrical fire. There are things you can do to help PREVENT a fire, especially electrical fires, but you cannot think of or control everything, especially in the case of other's vehicles you may be camping or off roading with.

I am not an expert, but I spent the last few days educating myself with everything I could about fire extinguishers.
All fire extinguishers are not alike, and some can even do more damage to the vehicle long term than had you used a different fire extinguisher. This is because the dry chemical fire extinguishers that are commonly sold at the hardware store are corrosive to metal and electrical systems in your car. So its good to know what goes into each kind, what considerations there are for each kind, and what cleanup strategy you should use after you need to use one. My philosophy of use for an extinguisher is that having one could potentially save the vehicle if you catch it early. In a fully involved car fire, it's a total loss, and the type of extinguisher doesn't matter except in regard to effectiveness.

ABC fire extinguishers(Dry Chemical):
This is possibly the most common "home" style fire extinguisher you'll find in the hardware store. They are a dry chemical extinguisher that uses ammonium phosphate, colored yellow for identification, and is rated to be effective against 3 types of fires:
"A" Type fires which are organic materials like grass, wood, paper etc.
"B" Type fires which are flammable liquids like oils, gas, and some plastics etc..