The 40 runs great! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Found out what was wrong with the cruiser. I was gonna change the fuel filter out so while i was at it i took the rubber line before the filter and it had about 2 inches of gunk in it and it couldnt fit through the filter barb to get into the filter. Put a Mr Gasket glass filter on it and she runs like a top, just as well as my Xterra. Sweet! The filter is picking up a lot of bugs and bug parts so im gonna try to get to taking the tank off this weekend but as long as shes running good and the filters picking stuff up i guess the worse it could be is having to change the filter.

So, what are the specifics of this cruiser? New to you, sitting? etc. Seems odd it would just start loading up with bug parts if had been running? Just wondering? Post some pics when you can...

Im a farmer myself but help my neighber,who is an elderly lady farmer in the mornings just because it seems like the moral thing to do. She bought the 78 fj40 in 84 like 75 thousand miles on it and mostly just ran it on the farm a little bit and from there to the fall of 06 on put 105 thousand miles on it total. She then bought a Kawasaki Mule to replace it. I bought the 40 for 800 bucks. The tops beat up and it has a little rust but not much. It didnt run very well, had to squirt gas in the carb to start her every morning. After that i ran the gas out of it, put fresh gas in it and some seafoam and it ran better until high rpms or going up hills it would cut out. I sent the carb to ccot for a rebuild but i still had the same problem which leads me to where i was at with the gunk in the lines. It honestly runs extremly great now. All i need now is a turn signal up front, lense in the back, wipers, mirrors, brake pads, tailpipe and the rusty floor replaced in the back along with the rear sill and its ready for inspection!