Taco V6 towing ability... are they strong enough? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Rainman

Wondering what my next vehicle will be...
Threads
I'm an 8 time Toyota owner and a former FJ40 (3) and 45 (1) owner. I currently drive a 2003 Dodge Dakota and find myself towing vehicles from time to time on an 18' trailer. I'm studying up on used trucks for when I get something else but don't want a full size truck. I was told the Tacoma V6 will tow just fine but I'm hoping this forum is as helpful as the 40 series list is. I've looked up the specs but hearing from other Taco owners (I believe I want 2012 or higher) would be the best source of information.

Any and all comments are welcome. Oh. I'm in no hurry to buy, just seeing if this is the way I need to go when I'm ready.

Thanks and Happy New Year!

Rainman

Last edited:
I had an '07 Taco 4.0 and was happy with the way it towed my 40. I was planning to buy a '16 Taco but the towing reviews were pretty awful; ended up getting a tundra instead.

I have an 07' Taco, and it is rated at 6500 lbs. (Dbbl cab, 4wd, short bed, manual 6 spd) I have only towed small stuff, with the exception of an RV that I tow about 2 to 4 times a year. The trailer is a 19 1/2 ft and weighs 2960 dry. Add a few more pounds for gear, food, family, and beer. The truck pulls this set up great, the only draw back is the wind resistance of pulling a big square block down the road. My trips are to the Sierras, and up to approx. 7000 feet +/- . You will not win any speed contests, and big 3/4 ton diesels with 5th wheels will pass you, but you will have maneuverability.

Thanks. That's a good start. I think I'm wanting a Tacoma Access Cab Prerunner SR5. That should be able to have the rear view camera (must have) and towing package. I don't need the 4WD. Would love it but don't need it or the cost.