Stupid post - air filters? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have lesson to pass on about air filters. And a question to ask - how often for peak performance/efficiency?

I've been maintaining her 100 for a few years now; I don't drive it often. Major mistake I made was not looking at the airbox carefully and realizing it was "inverted" - meaning the German cars I was used to, when you popped the box you looked at the outside/fresh air side. I kept popping the box and going "looks OK." I was so stupid because that's obviously the intake/engine air side.

She was complaining it was doing 13mpg or less locally. Low from our initial experiences. But I had kept up with plugs, oil, tires, pressure, everything was running nicely. Finally I looked at the airbox and realized my mistake.

I changed the air filter this am - looked identical to the Fram unit I replaced it with and I estimate was in there the last 35k to 40k miles. I did a 50/50 mix of interstate and surface roads, some city, and got 19.5 mpg for the 100 mile trip (I drive very gently, unlike her lead foot). I feel so stupid.

Anway, what is a good filter to use and the interval? Or if using a $15 fram, what can I honestly expect out of it? I know it varies with use/conditions, but we live in western WA with fairly low pollution and particulate levels if that helps. About the mildest climate in the continental US.