Story time: what is your stock 40 capable of (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

HemiAlex

Long live the 2F
Supporting Vendor
GOLD Star
Threads
Website
yotaoilfilters.com

I love watching stock trucks do things. I imagine when all people had was a set of knobby bias ply tires and some extra fuel. No air lockers and fancy winches.

If you’ve had a truck that’s done trails, gone on adventures or you drove it daily in rain/sleet/snow or extreme heat without a second thought, post your stories and videos here.

So when I was a Parts Manager at Downey Toyota (new car dealership where Downey Off Road Mfg. began), the new car salesmen knew absolutely zilch about Landcruisers (part of the reason they never sold well back in the day). When a potential Landcruiser custom wanted a demo ride to see what the Landcruiser could do, the salesman relied on me to give the demo ride. There was a perfect hole in the ground near the dealership, about 10' deep, looked like a bowl had been pushed down into the ground. I'd lock the hubs, drop down into the hole, then grab some air ((accidentally, or not) coming out of the hole. When we got back to the dealership, the customer would tell the salesman; "I'll take a new Landcruiser, but I want a different one, your man already ruined this one"

Here is two of many stories:

1982 I bought my first FJ40 off of the dealer lot. Took a Greyhound 500 miles to Hays Ks. to get the best price. I lived in St Louis Mo. at the time. A good American car town, a J*^p town. They didn’t care much for “rice grinders” there. I was coming off of a 1973 Scout at the time. So, I joined a local J*^p club. Boy, did I catch all kinds of crap on our runs. Someone was always unlocking my hubs and they would all be astonished that I would make it through in 2WD. For the first time they where witnessing the legend of the LandCrruiser.