Steering Question (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

ukboneman

SILVER Star
Threads
I am finally wrapping up my '73 FJ40 rebuild. I completely rebuilt the steering. It steers quite well but does feel a bit loose. In other words, it will wander a bit on the road without constantly correcting with the steering wheel. Is this typical? The rag joint itself seems like the source of play. I have tightened the center arm spring - not much difference. Thanks in advance. Mark

Sounds like a typical caster angle issue.
Have you checked what the caster angle is?

I did a 4" lift and added 4 degree caster shims right off the bat. I have to remeasure the caster angle now that most of my body is on, weight wise. I know the shackle angles have improved a lot since adding all of the weight back. The wander is not terrible - just a bit annoying. I just found an extensive thread here on mud and there is obviously a lot of differing opinion. I rebuilt the steering box but did not measure backlash. I do wonder if that is the source of the loose feeling.

The FJ40 steering system is loose anyway and will wander, especially ruts in the interstate the trucks cause. Mine was loose when I drove it off the lot with 30 miles on it. It would wear me out. When I started working on the road it would take me 2 days to drive from SW, Wyoming to Portland, OR and be tired.

It improved when I learned to weld and moved the front shackles to rear of the front springs, but without power steering and the configuration it was still tiring on long drives. I even had two steering stabilizers mounted.

I have FJ70 tie rod, relay rod and tie rod ends with FJ70 hardware and convert to FJ80 power steering box.