Stabilize the suspension???

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by Romer, Aug 12, 2005.

  1. Romer

    Romer fatherofdaughterofromer Moderator

    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    2,401
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Centennial, Colorado
    I replaced the swaybar suspension and it says after stabilizng the suspension, torque the nuts. I torgued with the axle still on jack stands. Should I have waited until I had the tires on and on the ground?

    Thanks
     
  2. beno

    beno Gihee Arakawa Moderator GOLD Star

    Messages:
    24,351
    Media:
    382
    Albums:
    29
    Likes Received:
    20,530
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Location:
    Woodstock, NY
    I did mine while on the ground with tires on...both front and rear.

    Good luck Ken.
    -o-
     
  3. Romer

    Romer fatherofdaughterofromer Moderator

    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    2,401
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Centennial, Colorado
    so maybe I should loosen it up and allow it to adjust with the tires on and re-tighten.

    What do you think?

    Also, the brackets the coushins mount to are suppose to be taken off by the FSM instructions. I noticed some brown gooey stuff in the rubber that started leaking when I took it off and moved the bolt around. Is this a bad thing and should I replace these?
     
  4. turbocruiser

    turbocruiser SILVER Star

    Messages:
    3,562
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    I also always do mine with the vehicle on the ground and the tires pointed to the front. I have not heard that doing this any other way is wrong as such, its just the way that makes the most sense to me. I guess, if I had to guess, that I would loosen the bolts and retorque with the vehicle sitting as such. I also guess, emphasize guess, that it wont mattter much really either way. Lastly, if I had to guess, I'd guess that the brown goo you got there is actually dirty oil dripping off somehting other around that area and is just gettign trapped in there and revealed when removing the rubbers. A lot of guessing, I know. HTH. :cheers:
     
  5. Romer

    Romer fatherofdaughterofromer Moderator

    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    2,401
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Centennial, Colorado
    I took it for a drive on the highway and above 40 I have a grinding noise now when I let off the gas. Strangly, there is also fresh exposed metal on the tcase flange just outside of the drive shaft flange. The drive shaft bolts are tight????

    Guess tomorrow, I will loosen the bolts on the swaybar while it is sitting in my garage. My garage isn't perfectly level, I am guessing I need level ground.

    Oh well, I rebuilt the starter today and at least that is working fine.
     
  6. Romer

    Romer fatherofdaughterofromer Moderator

    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    2,401
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Centennial, Colorado
    Also, I was curious if you took the drive shaft down to torque the bolts on the bracket. I just tightned it real well as I didn't do this.
     
  7. clarkrw3

    clarkrw3

    Messages:
    1,595
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    When I put new sways on my BMW they said to torque them down while it was on the ground....have you ever tried to get under a lowerd bimmer??? not going to happen...but no the cruiser that is how it should be done. the only way to do it on a car is to have a lift that lifts the tires...i digress
     
  8. cruiserdan

    cruiserdan SupportingVendor Emeritus Moderator

    Messages:
    22,367
    Likes Received:
    6,749
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Land Cruiser Heritage Museum broom closet
    If the jackstands were supporting the axles it would be the same as being on the ground. If they were on the frame I woud re-do it.
     
  9. 97cruiser

    97cruiser

    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Location:
    Lewiton, Idaho
    I just did the front bar recently and noticed the brown gooey stuff also. I assumed it was the factory lube. I it not?

    Thnx, Vince
     
  10. Romer

    Romer fatherofdaughterofromer Moderator

    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    2,401
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Centennial, Colorado
    They were on the axles. But need to readjust to solve my new vibration problem and the fresh metal I see at the Tcase flange.

    Something is obviouly out of kilter!

    I'll double check and make sure the coushins went on exactly were they were. I tried to do that, it just the only thing I can think off.

    I am guessing that it could not really be anything with the front bushing as that position is dictated by the frame.
     
  11. Romer

    Romer fatherofdaughterofromer Moderator

    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    2,401
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Centennial, Colorado
    I let the suspension re-stabilized and re-torqued and it seems to be fine.

    I forgot that this is a replacement Tcase and the bare metal might be from before or some of the drive-shaft swaps I did. I don't know if I looked that closely before.

    All in all, I'd say this is done.

    My little rattle also seems to be gone.

    The old cushions seemed fine. The passenger side bushing was a little worn compared to the new one and the driver side bushing was really worn more on one sid than the other with a groove in the side of it.

    A fairley cheap and easy maintenance item.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.