sputtering out when i accelerate

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by Varty Yo, Jun 30, 2005.

1. Varty Yo

Varty Yo SILVER Star

hi......im having a problem when i step on the gas my cruiser dies for a split second, when i get it moving it keeps jerkin like it loses gas for a second. itsa 67 with the 3.9L. i noticed the tac drop when i step on the gas also. could this be a vacuum prob or fuel pump prob? im very new to cruisers so treat me nice please............thanks guys and gals

2. lingo

lingo

check the fuel filter. it's probably clogged

3. woody

woody unhelpful spotter Staff Member Admin

Media:
    Albums:
    not sure what a 3.9 is but...

pull the air cleaner off the top of the carb, look down the bowl and give the linkage a twist...ya should see a stream of fuel from the acellerator pump...if not, then that's plugged...first thing I'd check for...

4. 73lndcrsr

73lndcrsr

Check your fuel pump as well.

5. fuzz

fuzz

Mine is a 78' FJ55 w/ a 2F and as soon as it warms up it does the same thing, I've replaced the fuel pump, fuel filter, points, adjusted timing, rebuilt the carb andchecked/repaired all vacume leaks, still does sputtering, could it be vaporizing the gas somewhere?

FUZZ

6. rusty_tlc

rusty_tlc Dain Bramaged Member

Media:
    Albums:
    Sound's like the accelerator pump to me. I battled this problem for a long time on my 71. The stock carb has a leather piston arrangement on the accelerator pump. I don't remember for sure but I think you can remove and replace it without dismantling the carb.

If you aren't a purist the best thing to do is ditch the stock carb and replace it with a Weber. I did that 9 years ago on my 74 and haven't looked back. It is by far the best modification I ever made to my 2F.

7. Varty Yo

Varty Yo SILVER Star