1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speedo stopped

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by Deckpilot, Jan 9, 2004.

  1. Deckpilot

    Deckpilot

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Just got the 40 today, on the way home from work the speedo just flops to zero. I haven't even gotten a chance to find a manual yet. Any suggestions, common failures to check? ??? Oh yeah its a 78.
     
  2. skiakhokie

    skiakhokie

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    the cables snap all the time. I lived in alaska and do to the cold air it would never work. I replaced it twice and it immediately snapped again. unplug it from the back of the gauge cluster and see if you can freely spin the inner cable. If so it's snapped. Get a new one from coolcruisers or any cruiser outfit
     
  3. Jman

    Jman

    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Location:
    If ya don't know, I ain't tellin'
    On my FJ60 it snapped inside the housing right near where it connects to the transfer case (turns out my skid plate got pushed up into the cable!).

    Not sure how easy it is to take it out of a 40 dash, but for me it was easier to check by going underneath and unscrewing down there and extracting the cable core to check it--I had only about 1.5" come out.

    Having bought a $20 aftermarket and then a $43 OEM cable, I say go OEM replacement--not a lot of slack, but seemed much higher quality, much more flexible.
     
  4. IDave

    IDave

    Messages:
    7,168
    Media:
    1
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Location:
    McCall, ID
    [quote author=Jman link=board=1;threadid=9924;start=msg87979#msg87979 date=1073696516]
    I say go OEM replacement--not a lot of slack, but seemed much higher quality, much more flexible.
    [/quote]

    Roger that.
     
  5. tewlman

    tewlman

    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    yeah, it's broke.

    I have the SOR one piece, it seems to work alright.
     
  6. IDave

    IDave

    Messages:
    7,168
    Media:
    1
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Location:
    McCall, ID
    I could send you my old SOR aftermarket with the broken housing....
     
  7. Merc

    Merc

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    yep its broke had same problem last week ripped cable out of 72 and plugged it in works perfectly now

    merc :cheers: