SPC upper control arm bushings. (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
The front end of the truck is all over the place. It very quickly went from good to unsafe over the course of two months. Now, I am an admittedly hard driver, but I’ve never seen this on a car before.
Look close.

Real close......

Somehow there is absolutely nothing left of the rear bushing. It’s like it was chewed off. I mean clean.

Obviously I need new ones. They have two sets. One for about $60 and the other for close to 300, but it is an updated style and includes a press tool.
Any reviews out there?

Second question?
What could cause this and how to prevent it? The passenger side looks fine.

Bush went dry and tore itself to pieces.....maybe it was assembled without grease? (just saying) If the wheel alignment is way off, the way to get the upper into alignment cause the bush to deform quite a bit

There is a greasable UCA out there that would eliminate the problem. I had a pair of SPC that had the bad ball joint. It was going out on a long trip, luckily I made it home. I got the new joint. Plus the way they fasten the ball joint to the arm is prone to slippage. I would not buy a SPC product again. The only thing I like about the SPC is adjustable to 4 degrees caster.

These things are expensive, not looking to replace the entire arm again. I was hoping somebody had some experience with the two bushing kits they offer for this.
Upper Control Arms should not be replaced in 3 years regardless of how you drive.

Alignment was fine, before the bushing blew out.

Are those greasable like the Nitro UCAs? It looks like they are not after looking into it.

I just looked up the two SKUs that you mention. That is quite the difference in price... Wow. Do you think it might be worth contacting SPC to see if the would offer you a prorated price on either of the replacement parts?

Last edited: