1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spark Plug Gap

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by bj70alex, Mar 20, 2004.

  1. bj70alex

    bj70alex

    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    I would like to replace the spark plugs on my 93. I have OEM plugs, but I would like to make sure that I gap them right. I don't have FSM yet.

    Thanks,
    Alex
    85 BJ70
    93 FZJ80
     
  2. ppc

    ppc M Go Blue

    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    336
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Look on the stickers on the hood
     
  3. Bryan E.

    Bryan E.

    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    I just checked under my hood and couldn't find it on any of the tags but it's dark and I'm using a flashlight. I found timing, valve specs, oil and filter info but not this. Maybe I just missed it. My Haynes manual list the spark plug gap at .032". If you ask the place that sells you the plugs, they should have this info as well. I don't trust the gap they come with and alway's gap them myself to make sure.

    Bryan Enoch
    94 LC, fairly stock
     
  4. bj70alex

    bj70alex

    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Bryan,

    I have only one sticker, but it doesn't the gap info at all.

    Alex
    85 BJ70
    93 FZJ80
     
  5. landtoy80

    landtoy80

    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    309
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Location:
    North Front Range, CO
    Does increasing the gap help of hinder in the 1fz?
     
  6. Scamper

    Scamper

    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere in NJ
    I've seen it said that increasing the gap from .032 to .05 will give you better fuel economy (yeah...right), but I think you'd need a high performance coil to push the spark that much futher? Don't know anyone that's done it intentionally, except by letting their plugs get burned to that point.
     
  7. Eduardo96FZJ80

    Eduardo96FZJ80

    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Alex,
    I am running platinum plugs, and these did require to be gaped.
    Toyota OEM plugs come pre-gaped, and are usually right on.
    I did a search with "platinum spark plugs" my user name, and back 600 days and came up with: https://forum.ih8mud.com/index.php?action=search2
    hope this helps