Sound deadener?

Spook50

I just got an idea....

I've been wanting to put some sound deadener in my 62 in hopes of reducing road and exhaust noise in the cabin. I know some folks are fond of Brown Bread and others are still Dynamat fans. What are some products you guys have had good luck with? I figure if I can find a spray-on for smaller, hard to reach areas and something I can lay down and adhere with a heat gun I'll be in good shape suggestions?

NOOOO!!!!!
That stuff will crack, split and cause no end of rust problems in a few years!! I've been working to rid my truck of it since I put it on 15 years ago.

74fj40 said:
i used under coating on the bottom of my tub, cowl, fenders, and hump. it comes in spray form.

turbocruiser

SILVER Star

Personally I love the dynamat, apply with heat gun and rounded off dowel ends and really get it into every little edge. Makes a massive difference with road noise in general and also makes a difference with stereo systems - place a pad of it behind each and every speaker on the opposing metal surface and you will be surprised how much more sound you will have and how much cleaner that sound will be. Another thing I like about it is assuming it is installed correctly (dry clean surface) there is little to no chance of rust forming under it. Sound deadening insulation and fabrics on the other hand wick moisture and hold it up against the metal. In my old MB there is a layer about 3/4 inch thick of horsehair over about 3/4 of the interior metal surfaces. Helps make the car sound like it was machined from solid metal, but I'm sure it would wick up moisture and hold it to the metal for a good long time if it got wet! HTH :cheers:

Spook50

I just got an idea....