Sink Creek (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello everyone, I have browsed this forum for a while but this is my first time posting. My Dad bought a 1980 FJ40 in 2018 not running and let it sit for a year. One day he told me that if I could get it running it would be mine to drive. So I called my Grandpa up and we got into it, ended up replacing the water pump and thermistor. This made it drivable, but still seemed to have a lot of issues. For a high schooler it was a good time though and I wasn't too worried about the lack of performance. This wasn't helped by the fact that I didn't have the mechanical experience to even start trying to diagnose them. Then the 40 sat for a year while I went off to college, only getting driven when I came back for breaks. It sat for another year until finally I needed a vehicle and I very luckily got to take it. Trailered it over the mountains and just drove it briefly to the store or to others houses. Then I decided to start trying to fix some of the other issue, I had learned a lot from friends I had made working on their cars and decided it was time the 40 got some love. Did some work on the distributor, replaced the spark plugs along with the wires, and fixed some vacuum leaks. Decided after this to take the 40 on some longer drives and get it off the road. After about an hour of driving uphill got horrible vapor lock, ended up flat towing it up, letting it cool off, and drove it back. On the way down had some backfiring and my buddy behind me claims he saw a 6 foot flame jet out of the exhaust. So we got started on trying to diagnose all these issues. Compression test showed 70-80 with no compression in the rear two cylinders. While doing this we made a major mistake and tried to do some testing after draining the oil. Turns out that is a really bad idea and we locked the engine. Everyone in the room had a bruised head after bangin