Simple LX470 Build/Refresh “CabinCruiser” (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello fine people of IH8MUD. This is a very impressive forum! The amount of help I have gleaned by searching here the last few weeks is amazing and has saved me literally thousands of dollars, so I’m going to be posting a bit of the simple LX470 improvements I have made over the last few weeks in the hopes it helps someone else, and ask a few more questions along the way. I am new to the 100 Series, but not new to Toyota 4x4s, this my 9th Toyota 4x4, and I’ve put well over half a million miles on a string of Tacomas (96, 01, 2013) and 4runners (4 different 3rd gens, and a 1984 1st Gen that I still own), I even had a 74 FJ40 for some ‘Mud street cred but that project went to my brother in law years ago.

This project had a specific purpose, our family has a house about 50 miles from us near Graeagle, CA and after my son was born we realized we needed something else to schlep the two of us, our two dogs, the kid and his future sibling and a load of baby gear up to the mountains. Hence the name “CabinCruiser”. My wife’s Outback is too small for the dogs, and my trucks leave my old heat sensitive Chesapeake Bay Retriever in the truck bed with the gear and diesel smoke. I got a shell and looked into adding an auxiliary AC unit to the Ram MegaCab bed for the dogs, but scrapped that project when I realized I would be in it 5k+. Obviously time for another SUV!

I considered several SUVs in my price range of 12-15k
4th Gen 4Runners, preferably an early Sport model with the V8
1st Gen Sequoias
2001-2005ish Suburban/Yukon 2500. The 3/4 tons are a rare breed and hold up pretty well from my experience with my wife’s old 2500HD with the 6.0 Vortec, but hard to find a clean one.