Should we be worried about bears in Tonto? (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

To be honest was surprised they introduced sheep into the burn area. Area is not a steep and rocky as thought big horn steep needed as habitat. The area is filled with burnt Ponderosa Pine and tall green grass.:meh:
I agree John. And giving an artificial advantage to a new species in an area by killing of predators makes poor sense as things will eventually go back to the way they were in time anyways. Big horn sheep need an extreme habitat to be somewhat protected by predators. NOT a grasslands animal, easy pickings there.

I was a Bear Biologist for 10 years. Keep your campsite clean and all attractants (food, garbage, toothpaste, deodorant, chapstick, etc) locked up and secured from dusk till dawn. As long as the windows are completely up and the doors locked, then your vehicle can effectively serve as the “lockbox” for securing attractants. Leave a window cracked or a door unlocked and a bear will get in and destroy the interior (they particularly like eating the foam inside seats).

You never know what experiences a bear has had prior to your arrival at a given campsite. The previous occupants could have fed it, or they didn’t secure attractants and the bear got a treat. They are very acutely aware of associations - one human feeds them and they expect all humans to feed them. And there have been multiple bear attacks in the Tonto NF, as well as multiple fatal attacks in Arizona in general, over the last 10 years.

I talk to my son about animals all the time before bed. What is your favorite weird bear fact?

I talk to my son about animals all the time before bed. What is your favorite weird bear fact?