should I use Green or Red Coolant? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

you will have to do a search.but on here (mud)the guys if memory serves me correct did a study on green and red.of course red won out.i think it was a matter of quailty ,lubrcation,how clean the red was ver. the green.before i started my trip i changed out the red,did a flush etc.had red in it never a problem but it was time for a flush .wife went to the store and brought back green instead of red so i went ahead and used it.needless to say im finding s*** coming to the surface of the rad.that i know that was not there before.also i noticed after i put in the green my engine temp went up 3 degress.not much but it is a big jump overall.also toyota recommends the red just another reason to listen.:D hope that helps a little

Toyota red. $14/gal.

I have been buying anti-freeze/coolant for all these 21 years for my Land Cruiser and sometimes I have bought Prestone's yellow, sometimes Toyota's Red, and sometimes another brand's green, and never thought anything about the color.

when I went into the parts dept of Toyota Dallas yesterday and asked for some Toyota coolant, the part guy asked me if I use Red or Green in my Cruiser. He said that vehicles as old as mine shouldn't run the red, but should use the green, because of the difference in the additives. That is the first time I had ever heard of this. He said he was out of the green.

I know when I was young and had a English sports car, you were only supposed to use Castrol green in your hydraulics, NOT the red, and I also know that it makes a big difference as to what color the Power Steering fluid is that we use, because we are supposed to ony use the Dextron red in our Cruisers. But I always thought that the color of the coolant ony related to what brand it is and that the color was merely cosmetic.