Should I buy this OM617 Swapped '86 4Runner? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Will Van

GOLD Star
Threads
As a lot of you know, I have been lusting over a Toyota 4x4 diesel swap for several years now. For a variety of reasons that I won't get into now, I settled on swapping a Mercedes OM617 turbo diesel into a 1979 to 1995 Toyota Pickup or 4Runner with an RF1A gear-driven transfer case. The reason for this particular combination was cost, reliability, availability, and ease of swap.

My plan was to use the Doomsday Diesel conversion kit for whichever Toyota truck I ended up finding. I chose Doomsday because the swap components are extremely well-engineered, readily available, bolt-on, and sold as a fully-integrated package. You pull the Toyota engine out and bolt in the OM617. No welding or custom fabrication. And you can run a factory radiator with air conditioning and power steering. No cutting the radiator core support. Basically with the Doomsday components, the swap can look factory and elegant. Doomsday customer support is also outstanding.

I figured I would have to spend about $8,500 for a decent Toyota Pickup/4Runner, another $2,500 on the Doomsday swap components, at least $1,000 for a decent OM617 donor, and probably another $1,000 on miscellaneous components and parts from Summit. All in I was expecting the build to cost between $12k and $15k.

Then I stumbled on this 1986 4Runner for sale local to me with an OM617 swap already performed. Seller performed the swap in 2015 and has been consistently driving it since that time. It is in decent shape and the Seller wants $4,800 for the truck. A steal even for a stock truck, let alone one with the OM617 swap already performed.

CA6-AA856-321-A-40-C2-8278-DB44-A4-E72-C07.jpg

102-D829-C-BC67-4-C16-B641-E8-D06841-DF97.jpg

15-C55-C1-C-B425-40-CB-BF82-FCAC762-D07-AD.jpg