Should I buy this 100 (and for how much)? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all, I'm on the hunt for a 100 and came across a 2006 LX with 125k on it at a used car dealer, asking $17,900. I'm already new to the state, and the dealer isn't in my town, so the best I could come up with for a pre-purchase inspection was a local Lexus dealer. They looked at it today and said everything looked great. I've also driven it and everything seemed to be well cared for and in good working order (though I'm no mechanic).

However, I've read enough to to ask about whether the timing belt was replaced at 90k, and the Lexus service center couldn't confirm whether it had been done or not. They said it's not listed in the Lexus service history and they didn't see a sticker, but it seems like it was sold at ~85k and the owner since then did not use Toyota/Lexus service centers.

Is there a way to confirm whether the timing belt / water pump has been done vs. is still original? Should I push the used car dealer to drop the price to account for that, in addition to the negotiating I was already planning on? Thoughts on a fair offer? I was already hoping to get him down to $16,500. Or, should I abandon this one altogether and find one with a documented service history? Any advice would be greatly appreciated - thanks!

See if you can knock off about $1,400-$1,800.

Crawl underneath and check how bad the rust is.

If you have them do the TB/WP make sure the heater hose T's are done as well.

Thanks for the suggestion about the heater hose T's. There's a little bit of rust, but it all looked to be superficial, and the PPI didn't mention anything of note, so I don't think that's something to be too concerned about. I assume absolutely zero rust would be a bit optimistic, right?

If you sign up here: