1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Seat belts modified for Soft Top

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by Romer, Mar 12, 2004.

  1. Romer

    Romer fatherofdaughterofromer Moderator

    Messages:
    10,630
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Centennial, Colorado
    Getting warmer and I am going to buy a STC Soft Top. Need to move my Seatbelts that are attached to two points on the hardtop. I am planning on drilling holes through the roll bar (I have a full cage) were I need to attach them.
    Just thought I would check with my fellow cruisers before I take a drill to my cage to make sure that there is not a better way, or that there are problems to watch out for.

    Thanks,

    Ken
     
  2. Poser

    Poser Oh...Durka Durka Durka. s-Moderator Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    20,177
    Media:
    17
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    449
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    Are you using a factory roll bar? If so, I would seriously think about taking that out, (save it if it is in good shape, as they have garnered good money on ebay for some who want to restore to stock) and installing something that is going to acctually do something in the event that you get hit or dump it... and then you could have a tab welded to the rear hoop down bar( 'B' pillar tube ), and acctually stand a chance of having the set belt do its job in the event that you need it...


    But that is just me, and I think that the bolt together tin-foil turd that Toyota calls a rollbar is pathetic at best...

    Good luck!

    -Steve
     
  3. airon23

    airon23

    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    221
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    Reno NV
    on ccot there is a seatbelt set up that is affordable and works ok depending on the roll cage you have it is just a bolt in set up that goes right into the cage above your left shoulder if you are driving.
     
  4. Romer

    Romer fatherofdaughterofromer Moderator

    Messages:
    10,630
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Centennial, Colorado
    [quote author=Poser link=board=1;threadid=13028;start=msg120275#msg120275 date=1079139192]

    Are you using a factory roll bar?

    [/quote]

    I have a full cage that is not factory.
     
  5. Romer

    Romer fatherofdaughterofromer Moderator

    Messages:
    10,630
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Centennial, Colorado
    [quote author=airon23 link=board=1;threadid=13028;start=msg120288#msg120288 date=1079140265]
    on ccot there is a seatbelt set up that is affordable and works ok depending on the roll cage you have it is just a bolt in set up that goes right into the cage above your left shoulder if you are driving.
    [/quote]

    That kit looks like doing what I am talking about. Drilling holes in the bar and attacheing with long screws and bracket? I can get at a Hardware store.

    Thanks
     
  6. Degnol

    Degnol

    Messages:
    8,122
    Media:
    16
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    Kansastitty
    Romer,
    I bought and installed the seatbelt set from CCOT. I like the quality. After some eyeballing I figured out where I wanted the shoulder attachment point, then I drilled a hole slightly largerthan the bolt. I cleaned off all the yellow zinc coating off the nut and paint off the rollbar around the hole, ran the nut onto the bolt, clamped it and welded a fairly hefty bead around the nut. I, too, was concerned about the effectiveness of the "sport bar" and made and installed some backer plates out of 3/16th's plate.
    I painted the backers and after install, ran a bead of seam sealer around the plate to keep water out.
    With any luck I'll never know how well it works.
    GL
    Ed :)
     
  7. LeftFootCruise

    LeftFootCruise

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Looks like the CCOT brackets position the tensioner way lower than where it sits mounted to the hard top, thus requiring more belt to be fed out. Does anyone know if the factory belt is long enough to allow for this added distance?
     
  8. NikP

    NikP

    Messages:
    1,046
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    141
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    I'd suggest welding a tab on the rollcage for the seatbelt since drilling it will weaken it. Just a suggestion for added safety.
     
  9. 77TLCFJ40

    77TLCFJ40 SILVER Star

    Messages:
    5,523
    Likes Received:
    639
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Madison, MS
    I had the tensioner on my 40 mounted to one of the roll bar bolts similar to the way CCOT does it. There was plenty of clean black belt, but it clashed with the dirty faded end of the belt. But seriously, its plenty long enough.