searching for that perfect 60

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
ok, maybe not perfect - but perfect to me. ive alawys loved 60's for as long as i can remember, but on the flip side of that ive always been a jeep guy as thats what i was raised in and have been my vehicle of choice.

now call me crazy, but im seriously considering selling my 2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon and tracking down that mysterious and hidden no rust 60 with a reasonable amount of miles on the clock in a color that i like and no accidents.

what would be in you guys' opnions the best avenues to start searching? im not a novice on the mechancis of vehicles - both of my Jeeps are well modified in what are the best components in the Jeep world and as well im a Mechanic for the Air Force. As far as diagnosing the obvious and less obvious of mechanical issues, thats not a problem. what problem i do have is the issues that are specific to 60's that are not well known, or atleast not well known to someone who doesnt really know all that much about the Jap side of the 4x4 sport.

all im really looking for is a reliable (as reliable as a 20+ year old vehicle can be) that i can enjoy as a classic DD, and trail runner with limited Overland Travel. i dont know if that means i should seek out a classic 60, or try and find a 62 with the options i want and put a 60 front clip on it (because IMO they look better and i could happily move my TruckLite headlights over from my Jeep)

anyway - thanks!

Rust free means from the west.

They are all reliable, if well maintained. Even when poorly maintained, they still keep chugging along.

Passing smog can be an issue...so consider that depending on where you live (or might live in the future).