Rust vs Reward (1 Viewer)

Too much rust?

• Total voters

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

I found my dream 100 series for what seemed to be a reasonable price (6.6K prob negotiable down to $5800) right near me (New Jersey)

Body looks great. Good color. Ran decently. But... BUT when the snow cleared and I got underneath I was horrified by the rust I saw.

please help, I’m no expert, so is this a run-don’t-walk situation or does the rust not matter / can be remediate at the above price.
View attachment 2581705

View attachment 2581706

View attachment 2581707

View attachment 2581708
I live in illinois and i'd run away from that. there are tons of less rusted 100s out there for that price. it's what you can't see.

Last edited:
Justify rusty trucks all you want. It's not just the structural stuff. It's not just the appearance of bubbles and holes in the body. Working on rusty trucks just plain sucks. Bolts strip. Bolts break. A 10 min. job turns into a *%#&ing project - extracting bolts, rethreading... Nope. Not worth it. You Rustbelt guys are not held captive. Get the &$*@ out of there and buy a S.E./S.W. truck. There are PLENTY. As mentioned, these aren't rare classics. The number of trucks that'll die in the N.E. because an enthusiast relocated one is statistically insignificant. Time for a road trip!

Justify rusty trucks all you want. It's not just the structural stuff. It's not just the appearance of bubbles and holes in the body. Working on rusty trucks just plain sucks. Bolts strip. Bolts break. A 10 min. job turns into a *%#&ing project - extracting bolts, rethreading... Nope. Not worth it. You Rustbelt guys are not held captive. Get the &$*@ out of there and buy a S.E./S.W. truck. There are PLENTY. As mentioned, these aren't rare classics. The number of trucks that'll die in the N.E. because an enthusiast relocated one is statistically insignificant. Time for a road trip!