Running on only 1 Carb Barrel? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm still learning how carbs work and how to work on them, this may simply be a stupid question-

Ive been trying to find a vacuum leak on my 60 for awhile, been through 30$ in brake cleaner probably. it only ever seems to ramp up when I spray the back end of the carb and I can't find a specific spot, which make's me think its the gasket at the base of the intake manifold?

More importantly, I was revving the engine while I had it fully at idle (I can only get it to idle on really warm days now) and seeing If I was missing something, I noticed that even if i pulled the lever on the side of the carb all the way and let the engine rev to probably 4000 rpm, only the barrel closest to the engine sprayed fuel while the other one simply looks crusty.
I've already ordered a rebuild kit from cruiser outfitters, but I wanted to check and see if this is normal? Other than the vacumn leak I don't have too many problems going up hills or getting to 70mph on the highway.

the good side on the left(from front of car)
carbright.PNG

and the crusty right side:
carbright2.PNG

your secondary is vacuum actuated and my not open unless there is a load on the carburetor. You can test it by doing the "paper clip" test. Put a paper clip around the secondary vacuum actuator linkage up against the actuator (red circle). Take a drive up a hill or under load. Then check the paper clip. If it is in the same position, then the vacuum actuator isn't working. If it has been pushed down the linkage, because the linkage was pulled inside the actuator, then the secondary is working.

1594328834861.png

picture taken from www.SOR.com

You may also have a bad seal at the base of the carb to the insulator plate. Or even insulator plate to the intake manifold.