1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rotary Phase converters

Discussion in 'Camping & Outdoor Gear' started by Junk, Mar 8, 2004.

  1. Junk

    Junk

    Messages:
    6,177
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    buggerville nj
    Anyone ever build one of these? I'm picking up some 3ph equipment for the garage and need a converter. Been hearing about guys using rope to start the 3ph motor, using other smaller 110 motors to get it going etc. Anyone have any good info or good urls to recommend on reading up on building one? As usual, I don't have a clue what I'm doing, but am going to try anyway.

    Thanks
     
  2. Mike S

    Mike S

    Messages:
    2,537
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    [quote author=Junk link=board=14;threadid=12785;start=msg117624#msg117624 date=1078805329]
    As usual, I don't have a clue what I'm doing, but am going to try anyway.

    [/quote]

    That's the spirit, Ignorance is bliss!! :beer: :beer:

    As for the answer to your question I have NO idea. :D
     
  3. Rich

    Rich

    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Search the archives of rec.crafts.metalworking. Everything to know and not know about phase converters has been posted there.
     
  4. Scamper

    Scamper

    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere in NJ
    Never heard of anyone building one, but you can buy 'em. Pretty spendy for a 3hp motor though; might be cheaper to get 3-phase delivered to your door (so to speak). Can't you just run a 3hp single phase motor? Or is this like a CNC machine you want to run?
     
  5. Vortec62

    Vortec62

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
  6. Vortec62

    Vortec62

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
  7. TOZOVR

    TOZOVR

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    [quote author=Junk link=board=14;threadid=12785;start=msg117624#msg117624 date=1078805329]
    Anyone ever build one of these? I'm picking up some 3ph equipment for the garage and need a converter. Been hearing about guys using rope to start the 3ph motor, using other smaller 110 motors to get it going etc. Anyone have any good info or good urls to recommend on reading up on building one? As usual, I don't have a clue what I'm doing, but am going to try anyway.

    Thanks
    [/quote]

    junk,

    I'll talk to Will...he built his own, it's slick.


    To quote a buddy,
    "a three phase motor will not start on a single phase input but it will run on a single phase input. In such condition two of the three phases are not excited so that they can be used to generate phased current. Take those two generated phases and reintorduce the original single phase current and you now have three phase current that you can run a three phase motor with providing that the machine you want to run draws no more than you are putting out which is roughly related to the horsepower of the generating motor versus the horsepower of the using motor. Obviously, the load you put on the using motor is also important."
     
  8. Junk

    Junk

    Messages:
    6,177
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    buggerville nj
    Thanks guys, appreciate the help. :beer: :cheers:
     
  9. Poser

    Poser Oh...Durka Durka Durka. s-Moderator Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    20,260
    Media:
    17
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    I have a 5HP phase converter that I purchased new when I picked up the South Bend a few years back. Has wprked great, and I don't think I spent 150.00 on it.

    My new Ellis drill press uses a three phase motor, but there is a electrical control box for the unit, that makes the three phase, not using an additional rotating motor like my 5HP unit, it is all IC stuff from what I was told..

    Good luck!

    -Steve
     
  10. Landpimp

    Landpimp

    Messages:
    15,840
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Location:
    Gig Harbor WA
    My folks couldn't get 3 phase at there place so they have a converter, its was bloody spendy and looks like something from the ages ago........its needed to run the elevator.
     
  11. Junk

    Junk

    Messages:
    6,177
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    buggerville nj
    So far, Pimp and Poser have the coolest of toys. Got to love it. Poser, you got to post a pic of your shop or email some pics at some point. massive drool factor.
     
  12. Vortec62

    Vortec62

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    That's just a neurological disorder :D :flipoff2:


    Damn rookies always mouthing off :eek:
     
  13. Niner

    Niner

    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    Readfield, WI
    Just about any industrial motor distributor should have a VFD (Variable Frequency Drive) you can purchase them that will take 220 single phase and convert it to 3 phase 230 or 460 depending on the model purchased. these are very inexpensive compared to motor replacement at least for the company I work for, but you might want to check both options.

    I have done this for some of our customers to allow them to purchase our standard equipment without having 3 phase in their buildings
     
  14. Poser

    Poser Oh...Durka Durka Durka. s-Moderator Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    20,260
    Media:
    17
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    MN
  15. Junk

    Junk

    Messages:
    6,177
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    buggerville nj
    Thanks. Yeah, saw some VFD's on ebay and such, just heard that they were not good for quick reverse - so some things would be tough. Seems to be the bees knees though for some things like step pulley machines etc.

    Thanks for all the info.
     
  16. Poser

    Poser Oh...Durka Durka Durka. s-Moderator Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    20,260
    Media:
    17
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    Ellis tells me that I can reverse my drill press at any speed..for what that is worth...
     
  17. Junk

    Junk

    Messages:
    6,177
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    buggerville nj
    Well yeah, but that drill is the s***. If you come home some day and see an 80 series high tailing it, with a :flipoff2: out the window and NJ plates, ya better not look for that thing :D Just kidding, but that is an awesome drill press.
     
  18. Kief

    Kief

    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Southwest Oregon
    VFD's for most applications will allow a 3 phase motor to operate at it's true capacity as well. Rotary converters do not excite the windings the same as true 3 phase. A VFD takes single phase AC, turns it into dc and then back to AC, but 3 phase. No, I don't have any in my garage or at the shop.. sorry. VFD's also give you more speed control. Info from a fellow electrician that knows way more than me.
     
  19. Poser

    Poser Oh...Durka Durka Durka. s-Moderator Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    20,260
    Media:
    17
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    Kief,

    I was told the same thing from an electrician guy that was out to the shop, a few weeks back...
     
  20. Junk

    Junk

    Messages:
    6,177
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    buggerville nj
    Thanks Kief. Yeah, seems like those VFD's are the ticket pretty much. From what I can gather, it seems like there is a 50% limit, but not sure if that's in both directions or one. For example, if you have something set at 2,000 RPM and turn down the VFD, you could get to 1,000 RPM, or if you turned it up (assuming the machine and motor were capable) you could get 3,000 RPM.

    Does that make sense?

    Thanks!