Roof rack build...advice needed (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I've bought a welder, and I've made a work bench, a small table, a picnic table, and welded some diamond plate on my wife's rock sliders.....so since I am basically a professional fabricator:cool: now I've decided to have a go at building a rack for the LX. I want a very basic low profile rack that could support eventually an RTT, and without the tent I'd probably only ever have like 300 lbs up there. The design would have a bottom rail, and top rail, but only separated by about 2" so it's low profile, while still providing an edge so things couldn't slide off easily.

I'm looking to build it out of square tubing, because I don't have a tubing bender or notcher, and I don't really want to mess with it. I'm wondering if I use 5/8" square tubing if that will be enough, or if I should go with 3/4" square tubing. I'm debating on whether I would want to weld in expanded metal for the floor, or just use cross braces of the same diameter as the rack.

Essentially this design, but with square tubing (and on a 100)
1.jpg

Another problem is how to mount it. Could I just use rack mounts from Gamviti or something?

Anyone who has done this have any advice?

Gamiviti makes a great rack mount kit that will save you a ton of time.

Thanks I was hoping their feet would work. Seems like I could get enough 5/8" tubing shipped for around $200, then that kit is around $200 as well i think..so total about $400 plus my own labor (cheap)

I used their kit for my roof rack build, and it worked out great. I used round tubing, but the flats on the top of the Gamiviti brackets will lend themselves to square tubing just fine.

I used their kit for my roof rack build, and it worked out great. I used round tubing, but the flats on the top of the Gamiviti brackets will lend themselves to square tubing just fine.