Right front Aisin hub is wrench turn only and likely not engaging. (FJ62)

  • Thread starter TheElegantFox
  • Start date
  • Watchers 5
T

Travis 76

Joined
Jul 11, 2015
Messages
523
Location
Las Vegas
I helped a guy in Moab years ago who couldn’t get his 60 in 4 wheel drive. He had his knuckles serviced at the dealer recently and they reassembled it wrong.
 
rickyrockrat

rickyrockrat

Joined
Jun 7, 2009
Messages
158
Then there's the idiots on youtube using a hammer on the outside of the hub to egg the hub so the cone washers come out. Those hubs are amazingly simple. A word to the wise - do not pack them heavy with grease....they won't engage if you do.
 
TheElegantFox

TheElegantFox

Joined
Feb 16, 2019
Messages
409
Location
Raleigh, NC
Then there's the idiots on youtube using a hammer on the outside of the hub to egg the hub so the cone washers come out. Those hubs are amazingly simple. A word to the wise - do not pack them heavy with grease....they won't engage if you do.
I’m still waiting on a used hub to arrive and then I’ll asses the state of it. Likely will need some light cleaning and regreasing.
 
TheElegantFox

TheElegantFox

Joined
Feb 16, 2019
Messages
409
Location
Raleigh, NC
Ok, got a used hub in the mail today and I took off the new hub switch and tried to seat it to my existing hub and it's not seating. I can get the large gear teeth to lock in but the inner gear ring won't sit. Is there a trick for hub switch mounting?
 
TheElegantFox

TheElegantFox

Joined
Feb 16, 2019
Messages
409
Location
Raleigh, NC
Checking this video:




Maybe the tab isn't lined up with the inner hub?
 
E

Earwigg

Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Messages
184
Location
Northland nz
Then there's the idiots on youtube using a hammer on the outside of the hub to egg the hub so the cone washers come out. Those hubs are amazingly simple. A word to the wise - do not pack them heavy with grease....they won't engage if you do.
Haha some times it's the only way to get them loose. If the po has bent the hub doing it in the past.
 
TheElegantFox

TheElegantFox

Joined
Feb 16, 2019
Messages
409
Location
Raleigh, NC
I think the original hub wasn’t liking the clutch from the replacement, so after swapping the old clutch on the new hub switch, I was able to get it to fit flush and function well.

This video helped a lot
 
TheElegantFox

TheElegantFox

Joined
Feb 16, 2019
Messages
409
Location
Raleigh, NC
Image
This was the culprit of the hard to turn old hub, one new pawl and it’ll be good to go
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom