Rig Shaking but ONLY at 30mph??? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I’ve noticed that my ‘05 shakes or shudders (the body—not like engine struggling) ONLY at 28-30mph and ONLY sometimes. It feels like I’m going over the interstate shoulder bumps. I suspect it’s when I get up to 30mph in 3rd? Does this sound right?

Otherwise, the rig handles and drives great, but I can’t figure out the shaking at 30.

I’m a noob trying to learn more and only been an LC100 owner for a week, so be kind and talk to me like I’m an idiot (bc I pretty much am).
TIA,
Will

Last edited:
Sounds kind of like a control arm bushing, maybe an alignment issue. Can you give us some more information? Any modifications or work the previous owner did, like a lift, would help.
Bone stock. MS 255/70R18 tires on there.

I’m taking care of a lot of deferred maintenance at the moment (already replaced front brakes & bearings, and struts all around).

But like I said, zero mods and all fluids are within range.

Every system has a series of vibration frequencies that are significant in that they cause the entire system to vibrate with a lot of energy. The first, and largest, is usually the only one anyone tries to dampen out. Your engine has one; it's the redline on the tach.

Typically, when the whole vehicle vibrates with a lot of energy, it's related to the rolling components, unless it's only observed on one specific road surface, for instance, you observe vibration only on one stretch of road and nowhere else. If, on the other hand, it's speed dependent, the root cause list gets a lot larger.

At any rate, the wheels are always in the root cause list and are the easiest to check. Look for missing wheel weights, unless you've had new tires installed recently AND observed the vibration ONLY after the tires were installed. Then you should go back to the installer and make him prove the wheels are balanced.