Restoring 1970 FJ40 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi, tommorow I am begining the restoration on my 1970 Toyota LandCruiser FJ40. It has the original 1F engine, 3 on the tree, and everything else. It also only has 11,000 miles!! I was wondering what kind of things I should look out for. I am planning on doing a Rough Country 4" lift, with SuperSwamper tires, either Boggers or Thornbirds. This is my first project andI want the Baddest looking truck in my school. The body has some rust on the quarters and on the rockers. I am stripping the truck down to the frame and redoing everything. Any tips on what to look out for or any problems I might have please respond. Also what kind of exhaust system sounds best?

Time and cash!

Your going to need a lot of both!

Good luck!

Keep us posted with pics...

Should be fun.

Lable everything, keep fasteners labled as to where they came from, and together. Zip locks, Sharpie markers, and masking tape, are great tools for this.

11,000 miles! SWEET! got any pics of it? where did you find such a low mile fj40?

very coo! have fun and good luck :)

John H

http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/265297 this is a link to pics of my truck. I got it from my uncle who had it partially restored about 3-4 years ago.

I had the top off this summer and it was the first time, it was ever taken off, so it had the factory toyota paint on it.

[quote author=70LCruiser link=board=1;threadid=6983;start=msg57686#msg57686 date=1067658802]
http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/265297 this is a link to pics of my truck. I got it from my uncle who had it partially restored about 3-4 years ago.

I had the top off this summer and it was the first time, it was ever taken off, so it had the factory toyota paint on it.
[/quote]

thats very sweet! still amazed at the low low miles! was your uncle the original owner?

John H