Replacing motormounts

Degnol

Degnol

Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
8,118
Location
Kansastitty
Can I put a block of wood under the front part of my oilpan and raise the motor with a floorjack?
I'm replacing the transmission/TC mounts also, should I do the MM first or does it make any difference?
Any and all suggestions welcome...
Thanks,
Ed ???
 
geocrasher

geocrasher

Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
189
Location
Sparks, NV
That usually works fine. Don't raise it too much, just enough to replace the mounts. You didn't say which drivetrain you were working with but just use common sense and it'll be fine.

YMMV
 
Degnol

Degnol

Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
8,118
Location
Kansastitty
I've got the old round motormounts that appear to have a bolt that goes clear through. The new ones are square and have a stud on one side and a threaded hole on the opposite side, so I'm going to have to either remove the bracket from the engine or lift it high enough to clear the thickness of the mount and the length of the stud. The rear mounts are donut style, do you replace the bolt or use the same one? Seems like reusing it should pose not kind of problem.
Thanks,
Ed :doh:
 
geocrasher

geocrasher

Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
189
Location
Sparks, NV
WHen I did mine I just re-used the bolts, no problem there. Also you can lift the engine high enough to clear the mounts. You shouldn't have to remove them. But if you do, remove the ones from the bellhousing, they are easy to get to.
 
Brog

Brog

Joined
Mar 31, 2003
Messages
182
Location
Chattavegas, TN
Ah ha...
I actually get to use my headaches to help another cruiserhead...
My engine sat on that lift and block of wood for a week until I got new bolts.

The old-round mounts use M12x1.5 bolts where as the new and improved square mounts use M12x1.25. You'll need two bolts (25-20mm long) and 2 nuts.
Make sure that get grade 8 and you're good to go.
Happy wrenching,
Brog
 
Degnol

Degnol

Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
8,118
Location
Kansastitty
Hey Brog! Timely post! Just figgered that out when I tried to reuse the coarse thread (1.50) bolts. It is resting on the floor jack and I'm headed to the hardware store tomorrow.
Both the fronts are at least in place now, are the rears a bitch? They look easier, really. Truth will tell tomorrow.
Ed :)
 
Poser

Poser

Oh...Durka Durka Durka.
Supporting Vendor
Joined
Oct 1, 2003
Messages
20,458
Location
MN
[quote author=Degnol link=board=1;threadid=10010;start=msg90115#msg90115 date=1074056522]
Hey Brog! Timely post! Just figgered that out when I tried to reuse the coarse thread (1.50) bolts. It is resting on the floor jack and I'm headed to the hardware store tomorrow.
Both the fronts are at least in place now, are the rears a bitch? They look easier, really. Truth will tell tomorrow.
Ed :)
[/quote]

They really are not that big of a deal. I have found on some trucks that the bolts for the rear engine mounts have been worn and needed replacing, which was no big deal, just may delay things, or make you do it again later after you get the correct fastener.

Good luck!

-Steve
 
Brog

Brog

Joined
Mar 31, 2003
Messages
182
Location
Chattavegas, TN
The rear is not too bad either.
You're lucky if you found the 1.25mm threads at a hardware store.
I had to call up a local fastener company.
Brog
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom