replacing Japanese aftermarket radio in my JDM LC 80 series (1 Viewer)

Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
39
Location
Toronto, Ontario
Replacing Japanese aftermarket radio in my JDM LC 80 series...

Hi Guys,
I want to replace the current radio, is it simple to change over to a north american aftermarket stereo?

Thanks,
jason
 
Joined
May 12, 2004
Messages
3,131
Location
BC, Canada
Yes...pretty much. Your best bet is to by a wiring harness that will just clip on to your factory plugs so you don't have to butcher those. Sometimes the OEM sub amp can cause trouble...but for just a head unit install, usually it's fine. Do a search in the 80 series forum about stereos...there's a bunch of info there.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
39
Location
Toronto, Ontario
Hi Stone,
The current radio is a JVC aftermarket one... I am guessing the OEM factory plug is gone. OEM Sub Amp? Where is that located? Is it possible my truck does not have that installed...
 

ForealBoreal

Cummins Boostin
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
6,649
Location
North Coast British Columbia
$200 bucks for a Alpine CDE-103BT and $8 bucks for the cord off ebay to your door.
Bluetooth
Ipod
USB outlet
CD
Aux output

this is all you need and its a sweet little unit. I will be buying the exact one because I am very happy with mine.

futureshop.ca
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
39
Location
Toronto, Ontario
I am a newbie guys...
Is my trucks electrical system 24V or 12V

ForealBoreal...
Can you explain the process of the installation for me... And what the part is called i'm to buy on EBAY. Perhaps there's a work-up on the site on how to install the new radio
cheers
 

ForealBoreal

Cummins Boostin
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
6,649
Location
North Coast British Columbia
well your new unit should have a wiring harness come with it.
Match the colors of wires to the ones in your truck.
solder them together.
Honestly it was my first time ever doing one and it was easy.
Its pretty straight forward.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom