Replacing Battery Cables Help

Biff

 
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
1,901
Location
Los Angeles
This might sound like a stupid question but what the hell I want to make sure I do this right.


I want to replace my battery cables with new cables, but do not know the steps I should take to remove the battery cables completely. I have all the supplies I need to make my own cables, as I said before I just want to make sure I do this right.

Any help would be appreciated.
 

cruiserdan

SupportingVendor Emeritus
Moderator
 
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
22,917
Location
Land Cruiser Heritage Museum broom closet
When disconnectiong battery cables on a negative ground vehicle always remove the negative cable from the battery first. Once you have done that you have "disarmed" the electrical bomb.

If you do not do that any tool you use to deal with positive connections could come into contact with the body, resulting in a short-circuit and a great light show.....:whoops:
 

Biff

 
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
1,901
Location
Los Angeles
Thanks Dan

This is what I got so far

I figured remove both cables from the battery

disconnect the positive cable from the alternator

disconnect the negative cable from the engine block.


When disconncting the postive cable from the alternator do I do anything special?
 
Joined
May 28, 2004
Messages
3,815
Location
'in dat der briar patch'
cruiserdan said:
When disconnectiong battery cables on a negative ground vehicle always remove the negative cable from the battery first. Once you have done that you have "disarmed" the electrical bomb.

If you do not do that any tool you use to deal with positive connections could come into contact with the body, resulting in a short-circuit and a great light show.....:whoops:

Hey Dan what if you have dual batteries, do you need to disconnect them both or isolate and move on with only the starting battery. I'd never really pondered the issue till now I'd always just disconnected both to be safe but your reply and knowing you have duals got me thinking.
 
Joined
May 28, 2004
Messages
3,815
Location
'in dat der briar patch'
cruiserdan said:
True, single battery here but I believe all batteries should be disconnected even if they are isolated.

Tanx Dan, always what I have done this thread just got me to thinking. Which is always a bad thing IYKWIM. :D
 

Biff

 
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
1,901
Location
Los Angeles
Dan,

What can I replace the fusable link wire with, or is it a bad idea to do so?
 

cruiserdan

SupportingVendor Emeritus
Moderator
 
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
22,917
Location
Land Cruiser Heritage Museum broom closet
You should not substitute fuselink wiring. Doing so eliminates the protection provided by the link and whatever poped the link, if not yet repaired, could take out the wiring harness up to and including an electrical fire.
 

Cruiserdrew

On the way there
SILVER Star
 
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2003
Messages
15,621
Location
Sacramento, CA
RavenTai said:
new OEM fusable link set, they are cheap.
Hey Victor-Do you realize a new Toyota fusable link is like $10? It is all set with the correct fusable link wire guage to protect your $$$$$$ wire harness. I would not use anything else.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2004
Messages
123
Location
Houston, TX
i dont mean to steal your thread but i did a search and this seemed pertinent...

i decided to replace the battery connectors... they've been there since '94 and it definitely shows. i was wondering if i could just use the battery cable... pictured here http://content.performanceproducts.com/main/101930/101930_200_1.jpg, for the (-) terminal connector and ground wire, anybody see a problem with that? and then for the (+) i would just use the existing cable and pick up a new military grade connector and sodder it on... hows that sound? thanks for any and all help.
~Russ
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2003
Messages
6,048
Location
Dixie co. Florida
I assume those are short versions of what you want to buy? what gage are they? hard part is going to be getting the right length.

you can make your own quality cables if you get a crimper, then you are asured the right length and can rework them later if needed. I got a "swage it tool" for not much $
 
Top Bottom