Rebuilding my 80 and I have no idea where to start (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys!

I’m wanting to get my 80 running again. I parked it a year or two ago after I hit a deer and it messed up my front end. I know I’ll need to replace the front end, grille, headlight covers, bumper, and hood. But I need some help with what I should do with it mechanically. I need to replace my exhaust because it rusted out in front of the catalytic converter and its just hanging under my car. Field mice have chewed through one of the wires that connects to the starter plugs and I think that’s it. Do I need to change all of the fluids too?
I’m still fairly new to fixing cars. I can to basic maintenance so far and YouTube is my best friend.

Thanks in advance!
62E8500B-08E1-4A89-AFA6-40B3825F8336.jpeg
A3010C0E-CCB0-448B-9B88-D0F6B45E4F9B.jpeg
678704DD-D6C3-4CC1-A313-A8952B7F71DF.jpeg
63CE381B-EBC3-4A2F-9D8B-781C290B6FCC.jpeg

What are your goals for the 80, where are you located and can you share a few pictures of the exhaust and the front-end from further back that includes the bumper/grill and hood while closed, etc.?

Your goals for the 80 will help folks on the forum advise what should be fixed. If you want to tool around in the woods with it locally then what you need to do is less than if you want to drive cross country and then tool around the woods for instance. If you want to make it as nice as you can in order to drive it forever or sell at max value then that will factor into what you need to do as well.

Where you are located can help folks recommend used parts sources in case you decide to go that route for some larger body and exhaust items that you may need.