Rear End Play (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I own a 93 Toyota Truck and I just replaced the rear U joint. During this replacement I found some play in the rear end. I want to know if some play is normal? The play I noticed is about 1/4 inch each direction on the yoke of the U joint before the wheels begin to turn. The truck has about 173,000 miles on it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The rear end leaks no fluid. I am a beginner mechanic on any type of vehicles and every job comes with tons of anticipation on how to do it. I want and will learn on this truck as I have nothing to lose with it.

I'm thinking he's talking about the backlash or play in the gears...

Sorry, forgot the right word... But I think backlash is it...

If it has a one wheel peel and not a welded or spooled rear then that is normal wear/slop. The ring and pinion might have perfect lash and very worn spyders instead. I wouldnt worry about it too much.

If it dies someday, get one complete off craigslist for $50-$100 and drop it in.

Does the pinion flange have any up and down play?

Trying to tighten up the old wear will change a very hi mileage pattern, not good.

If it was leaking and had some side play on the pinion flange, then I would recommend tighten it up and taking you chances.

Side to side and up and down play is loose bearings, and almost undoubtabley will leak like a sieve.