Rear aftermarket Air Bags/Hose questions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
With anything more than my two daughters in the third row, I hate how the rear of the truck drops down with any additional weight. It seems Air Bags would work perfect when I have additional passengers and/or have the LC loaded up. I'm looking to level out the ride when full of family/junk and people seem please with how it improves handling.

FYI, I have strock Springs and struts. I personally change out all 4 struts with OEM Toyota struts about 5 months ago. I'm not a mechanic by any stretch, but if I feel confident doing it myself, I will.

For the bags, how do you get air in them? Also, are there individual hoses for each side? I have a small digital air compressor that I can hook up to a cigarette lighter that I can use if I get a flat. Will that work to pump up the bags? Set each side to the same PSI? I also read that people run the hose to the back bumper? Does the hose come up through the floorboard?

I don't want a lift and want to keep everything as much stock as possible. I do VERY minor off-roading and its used to take kids to sports, family vacations, etc so I'm not worried about articulation of springs, etc.

Thoughts? TAI

You run a hose from the bag to the fill valve your location of choice, I think most people use the rear bumper (myself included). Nothing ends up inside the vehicle, unless you want to get crazy with it for some odd reason.

It comes with hoses for each side. You could get a T and combine the two hoses to run to one valve, but the air could then move from one back to the other when there are side loads (like turning).

A small pump should work find, the psi and volume isn't greater than a small car tire. Yes, each side same PSI.