1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pyro installation

Discussion in 'Diesel Tech / 24 volts' started by Eric Winkworth, Aug 3, 2005.

  1. Eric Winkworth

    Eric Winkworth

    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Well I just ordered a Pyro for my 3B and I was wondering if you guys can give me some tips on installing it, where should I put the sending unit? Do you just drill and tap a hoel for it? Also they gauge I'm getting is a stewart warner and has green, yellow, red and the temps, what is it normal exhaust temp a 3B should run at?

    Thanks for any help

    Cheers
     
  2. brownbear

    brownbear Mod in Hibernation Moderator

    Messages:
    6,751
    Likes Received:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Location:
    North West Ontario
    Not normal temp, but max should be 1250. try not to go over that.

    what kit did you buy?

    if you got one with a clamp, drill a hole near the manifold on the exhaust pipe and clamp it there.

    then you can mount the thermocouple.

    the tuff part is making a good mounting location for the gauge. I used the empy hole in the dash. made a plate from alum and was set.

    did you get a 24 v one, or are you running a converter?

    good luck.... its not really need though. fairly simple task. just drink some beers before hand to complicate matters.
     
  3. Technikev

    Technikev

    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I think 1250 egt after the turbo is a bit high. The temps usually fall 10-20 percent through the turbo to the best of my knowledge.

    1250 degrees F is usually a good max measured somewhere between the exhaust manifold and turbo. I would use about 200 deg. less if you mount the pyro after the turbo. IMHO of course, but better safe than sorry, so I hear. Good luck. Let us know how it all turns out and what kind of EGT you are getting.

    -Kevin
     
  4. Eric Winkworth

    Eric Winkworth

    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    I have a toyota converter already set up to run my deck, and cigerette lighter. I'm going to have to splice into power somewhere , where is the best place to do that? I just bought a digital kit from carquest (I get a discount so I usally buy stuff there) It comes with everything.

    Thanks for the info

    Cheers
     
  5. brownbear

    brownbear Mod in Hibernation Moderator

    Messages:
    6,751
    Likes Received:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Location:
    North West Ontario
    He doesn't have a turbo on there. So I think 1250 is still a good number for him.

    with a turbo you are probably correct.
     
  6. brownbear

    brownbear Mod in Hibernation Moderator

    Messages:
    6,751
    Likes Received:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Location:
    North West Ontario
    Anywhere with 12 v. its going to be a pretty light draw. But it should be ignition on. Not always live.

    Even if you spliced off the power wire for the cig lighter.

    I think the power wire for the light portions usually ties into the instrument lights. but your digital, so I dunno.

    post up a pic of it when you get it. Sounds cool.
     
  7. Tapage

    Tapage Club 4X4 Panamá SILVER Star

    Messages:
    22,935
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Location:
    Panamá
    did you have any pic of your Pyro kit .. ? I'm intereted in know if you need to weld something to exhaust pipe .. I buy one from Summit is a VDO pyro kit .. but in the instrucction refer to weld a cap to exhaust pipe and then screw in the cap the sender unit.
     
  8. Eric Winkworth

    Eric Winkworth

    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Mine is supposivly the clamp style, we will se when it comes in, I am away all week so I will post it when I get back, thanks for the info guys

    Cheers
    Eric
     
  9. wesintl

    wesintl

    Messages:
    4,516
    Media:
    1
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Location:
    Between Here and There
    Usually you get the pieces to weld in a bung and the clamp style. At least that's what mine had. Kinda nice since at some point I'll weld in a bung but for a quick hook up I went with the clamp.
     
  10. Technikev

    Technikev

    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Whoops, there it is up there at the top. :doh:

    Everyone's entitled to one of those once in a while. LOL

    -Kevin