Pricing (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello! I have a '71 FJ40 and have always wanted to rebuild it. Unfortunately I'm a broke college student, so my dreams of rebuilding it are years away. I've also thought about selling it for the time being to help pay for a daily driver and possibly purchasing one a little nicer down the road when I have more money to put into it.

Regardless of all that, I was curious what I could get out of this ($$) FJ40. Whether that be sold all together or pieced out individually.

1971 Landcruiser
No engine
Transmission out of it (as pictured)
Surface rust on frame, nothing too bad on frame
Rust on body (as pictured)
Lots of random parts that are out of and laying in the back

20200602_140748.jpg

20200602_140755.jpg

20200602_140821.jpg

20200602_140831.jpg

20200602_140948.jpg

Fj40s do require a lot of work and a lot of $$$. Your cruiser has a good number of small parts but missing the engine and all of the rust dock you a significant amount. If your hard top isn't rusted to bits and your door bottoms are in decent shape, I would probably put a price of around $1500 on it. Basically the price of the doors, hard top, and frame.

Probably not what you are wanting to hear but you will have to rip apart that body completely. The fenders are cut to allow those fender flares. So those side panels will need to be replaced. I imagine the floor/ rear seal is in similar shape with lots of rust. If the door bottoms are rusted up along with the hard top, that's just more time and money to spend. Once you spend 100s of hours on metal work, you will then look to spend around $1-3k on painting it, that's if you paint it yourself. If you have someone else paint it, you are looking at upwards of 8k+.