Power Steering Pump Rebuild or Replace? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Well i've been needing a new power steering pump for a couple months, and I have a few questions before I do the job.

It's not leaking but its growlin pretty loud in the mornings and still growls a bit around turns when its warmed up.

#1 Rebuild existing or replace with another unit? Is it even worth it to rebuild the OEM or should I just get a new one(rebuilt one or spend big $$$ on a new OEM).

#2 If I rebuild the existing pump, what do I need to replace on a rebuild to take care of the growling noise? The rebuild kits seem to have parts that address leaks, but I dont see parts for other internal repairs. My local dealer showed me an exploded view of the internal workings and it seems like I can get different internal pieces.

#2a) Is the rebuild complicated, (springs popping out all over the place etc. etc.)

#3 If replacing, how much quality difference is there between OEM and aftermarket? I've read some threads that say Napa ones aren't that great and I need to make sure I use the proper bolts so it doesnt leak. Is there a particular aftermarket rebuilt or new one that people like alot?

CruiserParts.net has used ones w/ no noises for about $100 or new OEM ones foe $350, I haven't checked w/CDan for his price on New OEM.

Thanks,
Bryan

Rebuild can be done but usually you end up replacing it eventually. Only use new OEM from Dan. Anything else is a waste of time.

I would suggest to just replace it with a new one for sure. I bought a rebuilt one and it's now leaking again so I'm going to be going with a new one here soon. good luck.

I'm about to run into the same thing. Try and flush your system first to see if that buys you any time.

I agree with Dave, new OEM is the way to go.