Post up your scan gauge

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by lndcruz, Feb 21, 2009.

  1. lndcruz

    lndcruz

    Messages:
    1,604
    Media:
    5
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Location:
    Anniston, AL
    Post your scan gauge installation with the setup numbers you used. Like gas tank size, cutoff, ect. I used what the manual said the gas tank size was, 25 gal and it says im getting about 11mpg which seems to be pretty accurate.

    [​IMG]

    sorry for the crappy picture. Ill replace it later.

    What it look like now.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2010
  2. e9999

    e9999 You want to do what...? Moderator

    Messages:
    16,727
    Likes Received:
    585
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    US
    how does the tank capacity affect the mpg calculations?
     
  3. lndcruz

    lndcruz

    Messages:
    1,604
    Media:
    5
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Location:
    Anniston, AL
    not really sure, but in the owners manual it says to put all that in before it will give you a reading.
     
  4. nicholas

    nicholas

    Messages:
    2,608
    Media:
    5
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Location:
    N. Nevada
    It should get a lot better (more accurate) at reading you mileage over time. On long road trips I only have to adjust the +/-gal a very minimal amount upon fill up.

    I average 14-16 on the freeway as long as I don't boost it very hard.
     
  5. amg2y

    amg2y

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Location:
    Beaverton, Oregon
    How does that Scan Gauge working out for you?
    What else can you monitor with it?
    I'm trying to justify the $160.
    Thanks,
     
  6. lndcruz

    lndcruz

    Messages:
    1,604
    Media:
    5
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Location:
    Anniston, AL

    so far I love it.

    TRIP COMPUTER
    Automatically tracks four sets of trip data - Each with 11 individually stored parameters.
    Maximum Speed
    Average Speed
    Maximum Coolant Temperature
    Maximum RPM
    Driving Time
    Driving Distance
    Fuel Used
    Trip Fuel Economy
    Distance to Empty
    Time to Empty
    Fuel to Empty

    DIGITAL GAUGES
    Display 4 gauges at a time from the 12 built-in digital gauges. the information is presented in Real-time!
    Fuel Economy
    Fuel Rate
    Battery Voltage
    Coolant Temperature
    Intake Air Temperature
    Engine Speed (RPM)
    Vehicle speed (MPH)
    Manifold Pressure (not available on some vehicles)
    Engine Load
    Throttle Position
    Ignition Timing
    Open/Closed Loop


    SCAN TOOL
    The ScanGaugeII allows you to troubleshoot your own car, read error codes, and the conditions present when the error occurred. You can also turn off the “Check Engine” light and avoid those costly trips to the mechanic.
    Reads Trouble Codes
    Reads conditions that set the Trouble Code
    Clears Trouble Codes
    Turns off the "Check Engine" light
    Tells you when vehicle is "Ready" to pass OBDII testing
    Make and store up to 10 rewritable special codes
    to send to the vehicle computer

    from the web site
     
  7. nuclearlemon

    nuclearlemon not an addict Moderator

    Messages:
    16,253
    Media:
    87
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1,108
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Location:
    meh-ico, colorado
    love mine, keep water temp all the time, other options change
    DSC00334.JPG
     
  8. motelcambodia

    motelcambodia

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    80 in Cambodia
    Do you have to have a newer 80 for this all to work? OB1 or OB2?
    I have 1995. Is this just a plug and play?


    Thanks
     
  9. SeanAndHis80

    SeanAndHis80

    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    Chester, NH
    Plug and play on OBDII only.
     
  10. LC4LIFE

    LC4LIFE Supporting Vendor SILVER Star

    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    1,583
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Mine shows MPG, Volts, Water Temp, Intake temp.
    scan2.jpg
     
  11. motelcambodia

    motelcambodia

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    80 in Cambodia
    Thanks,

    How can I tell if my 1995 is OBD 1 or 2 ?
     
  12. SeanAndHis80

    SeanAndHis80

    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    Chester, NH
    The OBDII socket is just above the fuses attached to the fuse block in the cab. If it is not there - you are OBDI.

    The location can be seen here - although the socket has been "adjusted" in the picture so that it will not stick out while the scanguage is installed. https://forum.ih8mud.com/80-series-tech/268908-idea-obd-plug-scan-gauge.html
     
  13. motelcambodia

    motelcambodia

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    80 in Cambodia
    Ok I know when the scaned my truck they did it from the someplace near the fuse panel i think they took off the cover.

    So if its OBD1 where would the plug be?
    I want to get one before thirsday and take with me.
    They do read all the codes too?
    Like this in my 80 ? see photo[​IMG]

    Brian
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2009
  14. lndcruz

    lndcruz

    Messages:
    1,604
    Media:
    5
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Location:
    Anniston, AL
    Im pretty sure all 95s are obd2
     
  15. nuclearlemon

    nuclearlemon not an addict Moderator

    Messages:
    16,253
    Media:
    87
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1,108
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Location:
    meh-ico, colorado
    if obd1 is like the 62 series, it's under the hood on the firewall on the right side. it will be a little black box with a flip open cover
     
  16. Romer

    Romer fatherofdaughterofromer Moderator

    Messages:
    11,056
    Likes Received:
    2,674
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Centennial, Colorado
    I don't believe thats correct, but I may be wrong
     
  17. retrofive

    retrofive

    Messages:
    14,925
    Likes Received:
    10,914
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    so. oregon
    You can open your hood. Drivers side front there should be a sticker with all types of info on it. It will be labeled ODB1 or ODB2. Or at least on mine it is.

    There was a pretty lengthy thread on the 95 being 1 or 2. I think the conclusion is almost all the 95s are ODB2 with a slight chance of a early early 95's being ODB1.

    Mines a 94, ODB1. The connector is just like mentioned before.... under the hood passenger side firewall.
     
  18. motelcambodia

    motelcambodia

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    80 in Cambodia
    Ok then mine must be 2 :clap: as can see in the photo I posted above is my 80 in Cambodia and the scan is pluged in inside like the OBD2 are said to be
     
  19. motelcambodia

    motelcambodia

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    80 in Cambodia
    Got mine plugen in and love it rest codes on the fly.

    But cant read the owners manual the print is too small to see.
     
  20. chitown40

    chitown40

    Messages:
    2,112
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo Grove, IL
    Some 95's are OBD 1, and some are OBD 2, depending on the production date. That was the transition year.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.