Possible blown HG and smog test? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey all - you got a mudder Noob here!

I just had a compression check done on my '85 60 with a 2F and got back the below results. What are the odds that this is a blown HG vs valves/rings? In reading through older posts, I have a feeling it's most likely the HG, due to the cylinders affected (2 & 3), but open to input. If HG, how much damaging would it be if I continue to drive it (while i put together funds to fix). Not planning on any long dist trips anytime soon.

Also, I'm due to get her smogged (in CA) and wondering what this means for passing? Exhaust is clear, engine is running at normal temp, and have a newly rebuilt carb (rest of emission sys relatively new as well).

compression.jpg

You can test your HG using a "combustion leak detector". It pulls air from your radiator through test fluid and the fluid changes color if there are exhaust fumes in your coolant system. I loaned one from O'Reilly last week to check my engine since I've been losing coolant and seeing white smoke on startup.

Give it a complete tune-up before (every) smog test.
Then test it.
Pass or fail you need to take the cylinder head off eventually to find out what's wrong.
Whenever the cylinder head comes off (after this many miles) it should be taken to a machine shop to inspect. Most likely most of the exhaust valves aren't sealing tight - which will give low compression. Also the valve stem seals definitely need to be replaced.
Yes it's ok to drive it around town with uneven compression if coolant isn't getting in the oil.

My Plan of Action:
1. Tune up
2. Smog test, pass or fail
3. Remove cylinder head when you've got the time and money to deal with it. It does take some time and it's not a small job due to all the smog equipment that has to be removed and replaced and kept track of.