Portals? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Despite the fact that I am a student with a serious lack of green, I have been thinking recently about the possibility of throwing some portals (or D60s) under an 80. After Christo's recent Birf poppin' party I thought I would bring this up on the board. Has anybody considered this or looked into it as an option? Just curious...

I am putting my MOG portals under a tube chassis, so I can't comment on them under an 80 series. I will say that drivetrain clearance is a big issue with portals.

If you have general portal ?s tho fire away and I will try to answer them. To see pics of my junk clicky link below. :D

Ah Cruiserrg,

Chevrolet 4.3L V6 TBI engine
Chevrolet 700R4 Automatic Transmission
Chevrolet NP241C Transfercase
Custom Unimog Front Axle
Custom Unimog 4 Wheel Steer Rear Axle
4 Link Suspension with SAW Coilovers
42" Super Swamper TSLs on Humvee Rims

And this is a LandCruiser project?

Kurt,
Go take a looksee underneath a Hummer (not an H2.) They have portal axles.
-B-

This is a portal axle. Note the location of the pumpkin.

Axle_Parts_036.xxl.jpg

Portal axles have an additional reduction gear box at the wheel hub.

The hummer's have portals at the wheel hub, but utilize a IFS configuration.

Volvo / Unimogs use the portal reduction hubs and a solid / live axle.

The portal reduction box adds additional torque / force on the springs, and work awesome in 3, 4, and 5 link combinations. They also provide excellent differential clearance ~ 17" +.

Joe

[quote author=landtank link=board=2;threadid=3985;start=0#msg29276 date=1059447905]
Ah Cruiserrg,

Chevrolet 4.3L V6 TBI engine
Chevrolet 700R4 Automatic Transmission
Chevrolet NP241C Transfercase
Custom Unimog Front Axle
Custom Unimog 4 Wheel Steer Rear Axle
4 Link Suspension with SAW Coilovers
42" Super Swamper TSLs on Humvee Rims

And this is a LandCruiser project?