Points problems (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
‘69 with original F engine desmogged with a Weber 32/36 that ran good until I let it sit for a year and a half. Got it running a couple weeks ago and would idle good but as soon as throttle was applied it would stumble out. If you pumped the pedal repeatedly you could get it to rev out but as soon as steady pedal was applied it cuts out. Thinking it was a carb issue I pulled the carb and cleaned it, checked the diaphragm on the accelerator pump and it looked good but made no difference. Started thinking it may he points and condenser after searching on here. Pulled the dizzy cap and noticed the rotor tip was worn so I replaced it and the cap, made no difference. I replaced the condenser first and admittedly this is my first time messing with points so the different style of condenser through me off a little bit with some searching here I got it to fire it up, idled great but same stumbling under steady pedal. After more searching and reading I decide to jump into the points. Did everything step by step and feel fairly confident I have the points setup correctly but now I don’t have any fire at all. Turns over and over but never runs but after the key is turned off it stumbles and runs a little like it’s dieseling. I think my problem is in the connections of the condenser, coil and points. I feel like I have a cobbled up mess trying to make the newer style condenser work and may have it all way off. Any help is greatly appreciated.

73944DB2-453C-40BB-8DC6-EA91A3A737B5.jpeg

E0DDE9AD-DAE7-4E88-A231-C200CFAC143D.jpeg

1527EB7F-DF46-4FF4-901B-FC3277AA32BC.jpeg