plasma cutter help (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

lx450landcruiser

Threads
i have a hypotherm 380 and a husky 26 gal 1.7 horsepower to 5.5 peak horspeower compressor. its rated at 5.1 SCFM at 90 psi my plasma says it needs 60 psi at the at a flow or 4.0 however for some reason when i have everything hooked up and try and set the air rating on the cutter i cant get it to go up to 60 psi? any ideas? is it just a crappy compressor and i should get a bigger one or what?

thanks
mike

Our (at work) 50watt ThermoDyne uses bottled air.
I think you need something 3phase to build the type of SCFM/PSI you need for a burnzall.
Plus, I think you need really really clean/dry air for optimum performance. Ours has inline filter/drier.

But I'm a plasma noob, so I may be talking out my arse.

yeah i have the filter but after talking to the welding shop guy hes like "ah yeah a house hold compressor does it as long as it meets the ratings" well then what the hells wrong wit mine?

what is the actual output on the compressor, it sounds like it is set lower than the 60 psi,,,

I have a thermaldynamics pack master 75 xl, if the pressure is lower than 40psi it cuts off, you GOTTO have dry air, a tank is good, but expensive, you dont need 3 phase, but usually home ac dont put out enough and the rating is not true I dont know how to compare it, but think of it this way, do you really think your HDepot compressor motor is putting out the same as a 5 hp lawnmower/5hp industrial compressor? probably not, there is a peak rating that is kinda bogus,,