1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Piezo factory alarm chirper

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by LX_TREME, Feb 21, 2007.

  1. LX_TREME

    LX_TREME

    Messages:
    2,645
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    Is this the right piezo to replace the OEM one? Also do I need to disconnect the battery to install the new one in?

    http://www.floydbell.com/files/m80_specs/M-80W.pdf

    Thank you
     
  2. JimmyK

    JimmyK

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    It does look like that but I went to the shack and picked up one from there that seemed to work perfectly cost a few bucks.

    I simply left everything conencted spliced the wires and soddered it in.

    Since its not sending it any current just sitting there you should not need to disconnect the battery.

    cheers!
     
  3. RavenTai

    RavenTai

    Messages:
    6,048
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Location:
    Dixie co. Florida
  4. alia176

    alia176

    Messages:
    10,253
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Location:
    Tijeras, NM
    I'll be happy to hear my stock one work on a consistent basis! Everything on the alarm system works but the chirper doesn't always "speak up"....
     
  5. corsair23

    corsair23 SILVER Star

    Messages:
    2,172
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    x2 on both the LX and the FZJ80. And it seems to be random and not attributable to anything (i.e. cold weather). While we're at it, can I add to the wish list an alarm remote that works from farther away than 5 feet? :D
     
  6. alaskacruiser

    alaskacruiser

    Messages:
    1,616
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Location:
    LA, CA
    Hold the alarm remote up to your chin for a range of more like 20+ feet.
     
    CCRider likes this.
  7. corsair23

    corsair23 SILVER Star

    Messages:
    2,172
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    I do that only when it is dark :D
     
  8. alia176

    alia176

    Messages:
    10,253
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Location:
    Tijeras, NM

    I'll mention that to the wife and then duck for cover...
     
  9. 98 SNAKE EATER

    98 SNAKE EATER

    Messages:
    4,542
    Likes Received:
    748
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Location:
    Queens, NYC and sometimes Orlando, FL
    Just got my rig yesterday and realized the piezo was kaput :frown:

    I noticed it before, but thought it was in the programming....


    After a quick program check, it wouldn't beep, so I yanked one out of a newer Tundra complete with plug and wired it in ;p


    Now when it craps out again, I won't have to cut and splice, just unplug the old and plug in the new :)
     
  10. 450 Cruiser

    450 Cruiser

    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle
    From what I can recall, that looks close to the factory piezo I ordered from CDan (PN 08192-12921). It was $22 but well worth it because of the connectors. I hate splicing. I did not disconnect the battery. Although if it requires splicing and open wires, I would disconnect the bat.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2007
  11. Kalawang

    Kalawang

    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Location:
    Philippines
    Connectors are many times better than splicing. I just found a hot wire in my windows switch caused by a splice that had become a touch loose with time and was arching.


    Kalawang
     
  12. murf

    murf Lifer Supporting Vendor SILVER Star

    Messages:
    9,522
    Media:
    172
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3,611
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Location:
    Scottsdale, Arizona
    After a year of watching my side marker lights for indications of lock and unlock, I decided to use the search function and research. I decided that after several times of walking back and forth to make sure the cruiser was really locked, I ordered a factory Toyota replacement for a little over $20.00 and installed it last week.

    It has worked great every time and I didnt realize how much easier it is to depend on the audible as I am walking away.

    I suggest stop "living with it" like I did for too long and treat yourself to an inexpensive repair. :cool:
     
  13. 98 SNAKE EATER

    98 SNAKE EATER

    Messages:
    4,542
    Likes Received:
    748
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Location:
    Queens, NYC and sometimes Orlando, FL


    I still grab my handles each time to make sure it's locked, even with a new piezo :meh:
     
  14. bpassmore

    bpassmore Site ***** SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,616
    Media:
    22
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
  15. lx450landcruiser

    lx450landcruiser Moderator

    Messages:
    2,779
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Location:
    Uganda
    do the grey wire mod and youll be happy again. I can unlock my truck from 50 feet away now (factory alarm) only takes 5 min
     
  16. JerseyCruiser

    JerseyCruiser

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Location:
    North Jersey
    Does the factory alarm on a 1993 Cruiser have a piezo chirper if not can one be added? Where is it located? It sucks having to count on the marker lights to confirm that I armed it.
     
  17. josharre2000

    josharre2000

    Messages:
    762
    Media:
    27
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Location:
    Bentonville, AR
    I got the radio shack one as well. Works like a champ.
     
  18. 4nn4

    4nn4

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    The Piezo Is Working But Still No Sound When Arm/Disarm

    Dear friends,
    I am newbui here sorry if I open this old thread again.

    My Toyota using RS3000 security system and I have confirm it by setting the Piezo Operation Mode to ON (in hope every time I ARM/DISARM I get the audible indicator). But there is still no sound from the Piezzo.

    I have remove the piezzo and (male connector) manually connect it directly to my acr's battery and it's sound loud and clear, so the piezzo is OK.

    So using voltmeter I try to measure/check the voltage on the female connector and ARM/DISARM the remote, but notice no detection of any voltage, seem no power run on it (logically should be 12v/once for ARM and 12v 12v / twice for DISARM).

    Any clue to fix this problem ? Some may suggest to replace the remote battery, is there any connection to resolve this ?

    Thank yo so much
     
  19. fzjadam

    fzjadam

    Messages:
    241
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    How to test factory alarm???

    I have the factory alarm horn under the hood but don't know if the alarm works. Had the LC for about 3 years. Never had a remote. I originally planned on installing an aftermarket alarm, but it would be nice if the OEM alarm still works & I get a remote cheap. Is there a way to test the factory alarm without a remote? Aftermarket alarms often have a button that can be hidden.
     
  20. BAZZMAZZA

    BAZZMAZZA

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
    I need to replace mine can anyone tell me where this part is located on the vehicle? Thanks in advance.