Pics of Dual Odyssey Batts in Stock Batt Location

Discussion in '60-Series Wagons' started by Timoss, Jul 6, 2005.

  1. Timoss

    Timoss

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    So some folks were asking about my dual Odyssey battery setup. Here are some pics. A bit muddy, and obviously not wired up yet, but you get the picture (pun intended).

    FYI, Mr. Stainless Battery Tray (www.stainlesstrays.com; his email is: hdnevdn@nvbell.net) is the guy who made the tray for me. He charged me $75. It fits two of the 1200MJTs side by side and bolts into the stock bolt holes.

    Obvious advantages are:
    1. Ease of installation (less cable and wiring, no need to relocate overflow bottles, etc.)
    2. Space saving (use the driver's side space for you air compressor or welder)
    3. Odysseys rock!

    Disadvantages:
    1. Cost (Odysseys are expensive up front)

    HTH,

    Tim
    88fj62 TLCA
    CIMG1161_1.jpg CIMG1162_1.jpg
     
  2. HZJ60 Guy

    HZJ60 Guy Tank Buster

    Messages:
    2,356
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle area
    Do you want that much weight on one side of the truck?

    Just a thought.
     
  3. Timoss

    Timoss

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Yes, I do! Balances out the driver's weight... I also have a compressor on the driver's side, so...

    Tim
    88 fh62 TLCA
     
  4. HZJ60 Guy

    HZJ60 Guy Tank Buster

    Messages:
    2,356
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle area
    Roger.
     
  5. Tapage

    Tapage Club 4X4 Panamá SILVER Star

    Messages:
    23,121
    Likes Received:
    1,249
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Location:
    Panamá
    Is easy ( more, I thought ) put one batt in each side ..
     
  6. peepers

    peepers

    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    looks great tim... how about a full write up so we can copy it?
     
  7. Overlord

    Overlord

    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Wasilla, AK
    I wonder if a single 1700 Odyssey would fit? Would you mind measuring the width of the batteries? I want to run dual 1700, one on each side of the radiator.

    Looks good BTW.
     
  8. silvercrusher

    silvercrusher

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    vancouver island
    Is only one of those batteries connected? WTF
     
  9. chitown40

    chitown40

    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo Grove, IL
    WTF :flipoff2: :D
     
  10. silvercrusher

    silvercrusher

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    vancouver island
    me no like words pics good.


    Sorry I shoulda read the whole dang thing
     
  11. Timoss

    Timoss

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Yes, Sean, a 1700 should just fit lengthwise and you could easily install two trays on each side in the traditional dual batt config and run them. I had this posssibility in mind when I asked for the tray design: It includes a tie down across the short side as well so you can run the 1700 or a single Optima or whatever if you prefer.

    Tim
    88 fj62 TLCA
     
  12. HZJ60 Guy

    HZJ60 Guy Tank Buster

    Messages:
    2,356
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle area
    Does the 1700 fit in a normal battery tray?
     
  13. Overlord

    Overlord

    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Wasilla, AK
    I emailed stainlesstrays and they said the 1700 is too big, hmmm...
     
  14. dfmorse

    dfmorse

    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Location:
    EVERGREEN, CO, USA
  15. Timoss

    Timoss

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    I believe it woudl fit, though it would be tight. The two 1200s I have in there add up to 13.125 inches across. The length of the 1700 is 13.02. Since it is shorter than the two 1200s I am fitting now, I don't see why it wouldn't fit. The other dimensions are no problem: The 1700 is only 0.13 inch taller than the 1200, and the width would fit with room to spare. Are you sure he knew that you were asking about fitting a SINGLE 1700 in the tray?

    Tim
    88 fj62 TLCA
     
  16. Timoss

    Timoss

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    No way...

    Tim
    88 fj62 TLCA
     
  17. Overlord

    Overlord

    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Wasilla, AK
    I'm not sure, maybe he thought I was talking about 2 in a single tray. I emailed him again for clarification. I also sent him a link to this thread.

    Here's the email I sent and his reply:

    Hi Sean
    Sorry, too big.
    I have made a custom for two Odyssey 1200s.
    They were side by side in the stock location.
    What do you think about this setup?

    Noel
    DK Enterprises
    stainlesstrays.com
    -
    -
    -
    ----- Original Message -----
    From: "Sean Bybee" <xxx.xxx@xxx.com>
    To: <hdnevdn@nvbell.net>
    Sent: Thursday, June 30, 2005 6:19 PM
    Subject: FJ60 tray


    > What is the dimensions of the FJ60 tray? I want to see if it will fit
    > a Odyssey PC 1700 (13.02L X 6.62W X 6.93H).
    >
    > Thanks,
    >
    > Sean
    >
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.