Parking break upgrade (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Why not line lock? (honest question)

I have no direct experience with them but I've read it's not good to have pressure on the caliper seals for extended periods of time. I really do need a good parking brake solution since I had to ditch the factory setup when I mounted my coilovers behind the axle - just no room whatsoever for the mechanism. I never had good luck with the factory parking brake setup on my 80, even after trying to adjust it. Not a fan of the stock setup.

Can you make us a tcase parking brake setup?? :) Here's one for the FJ60s. Can't imagine it would be that much more complicated for an 80:

4066mb3-1.jpg

Maybe this is what I was asking about ?
Cruiser Brothers / Valley Hybrids sells the Terrain Tamer extended dogbone (strut) thingie. I bought a couple a few years back, and they did help. Not transformative, but helpful.

With new shoes that have not yet conformed to the drum ID, performance will absolutely stink. Gotta "burn-in" the shoes per the FSM bedding procedure, then readjust the shoes and bellcrank. Ditto what others have reported...these things require fairly frequent adjustment to keep working OK.

Cruiser Brothers / Valley Hybrids sells the Terrain Tamer extended dogbone (strut) thingie. I bought a couple a few years back, and they did help. Not transformative, but helpful.

With new shoes that have not yet conformed to the drum ID, performance will absolutely stink. Gotta "burn-in" the shoes per the FSM bedding procedure, then readjust the shoes and bellcrank. Ditto what others have reported...these things require fairly frequent adjustment to keep working OK.
Thank you for the info brother.

as steel is not rubber. It does not stretch to the point that the brake can't work once it is adjusted. What am I missing here?