Painting running board scratch (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
My wife hit a car and it made a long scratch into one of our running boards (which looked like new). Some of the plastic from the other car I can remove, but any advice on the best way to paint the long, now black scratch in the running board? And removing the running board altogether is not an option - I have little kids.

Pics help.

Pics help.
PXL_20230416_150438514.jpg
PXL_20230416_150448264.jpg

I would hit that with some sandpaper, mask off the area, and cover it with some color matched paint from automotive touchup. But I'm no expert.
We have to hit our deductible anyway to pay for the other car she hit - a BMW bumper - make any sense to just replace it?

We have to hit our deductible anyway to pay for the other car she hit - a BMW bumper - make any sense to just replace it?
The running board? Why? It's just an itty bitty scratch. I mean, it MIGHT be less work to replace it than to paint it. And then you can sell the old one to someone who did a delete and now regrets it because they've gone lifted and have to pole vault into their driver's seat.

Short version, you asked if it made any sense. It doesnt to me, but it might to you.

The running board? Why? It's just an itty bitty scratch. I mean, it MIGHT be less work to replace it than to paint it. And then you can sell the old one to someone who did a delete and now regrets it because they've gone lifted and have to pole vault into their driver's seat.

Short version, you asked if it made any sense. It doesnt to me, but it might to you.
I agree - seems easy enough to fix. I was not aware of automotive touchup - seems simple. Thanks for the input,