"Painless" Wiring Harness (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

M

Mrpoopypants

OK got my cruiser back to gather at least up to the main tub. Next is the re-wiring.
I am not an electrician so any advice is good.
I have an FJ-40, W/ early 70s V-8 and HEI Dist.
None of the Relays, Switches, Gauges or Speedo Cluster were connected so I don’t have a reference. The Old harness is torn out and in a box in pieces.
- What item from the old electrical system do I have to incorporate into the new
harness? i.e./ relays, regulators, etc
- How can I tell if my Alt has an internal Reg?
- Where is the best spot to mount the Maxi Fuse that comes with the kit?
- Does the Painless kit have all connections or will I have to customize a few of
them?
- There are a few boxes on the passenger’s side interior fire wall. one looks like a
Voltage Reg. One looks like a little bell or buzzer with a small tube going through
the fire wall and the other is a box with a green, female plug-in on the front.
Can't seem to identify them from any books I have and the lettering on them is
gone.
- My water pump has a small, 1inch hose coming out of the top of it and into the
intake manifold. Is this where i hook my heater hoses and in what direction?

Thnx for the Help

Ive heard from others using the painless kit that it is anything but painless. there is a competitor out there I think called EZ wire.com or something. has the same basic kit and a few hundred less. I am pretty sure you need to KEEP all of your OEM connectors. and solder in the new wires to them. Solder everything and shrink tube it so you only have to do it once.

Good luck. I would consider the glove box for mounting the fuse panel. You have some access to it. and it is a bit higher for water fording situations.

Does anyone know the name of this other company. Or a web page?

I have never heard of EZ wire, though Centech is what I will be using.