Opinions on DIY maintenance (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Alright folks - gotta be honest - I’ve never done any of my own maintenance on any of my cars. Never had anyone close to me to teach me these things and frankly I’m always busy (family, young children, golf etc). Soooo...what do you recommend are some good DIY things I can start with to get my feet wet?

I’m an engineer and pretty handy so I’m confident I’ll catch on quick. I just don’t have all the tools, physical space or experience. Just picked up an ‘04 with 100k miles so I plan on keeping this rig for a long time. Look forwarding to learning and saving myself some coin!

TIA for any advice.

Youtube has everything you need to know, and search the forum on specific things that you want to do.

I’d suggest purchasing the hard copy set of the factory service manuals (or at the very least download the electronic copy floating around ‘mud) and get a copy of TechStream up and running with a mini-VCI cable.

Between this forum, the FSM, and youtube, most things should be fairly well documented.

A basic set of metric tools is a good start, for certain tasks you’ll find that you may need an abnormally large metric socket or wrench that you can buy as needed.

Welcome to the Forum.
Folks have put a lot of effort into the 100-series FAQ at the top of the Forum. Check out the section on maintenance.

Congrats on the new ride! I like your attitude toward this.