Oil Viscosity and Gas Mileage (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I've got a Q4U (as they* say)...
Is it generally true that higher viscosity oils will give you lower gas mileage? The reason I ask is that I'm currently running Mobil 1 Ow-40 and I notice my gas mileage has gone down vs. the old dino 10w-30 I was using.

Also, does using a higher viscosity oil provide any additional protection against wear? (assuming you are using it in the appropriate climactic conditions).

*they = people who spend way too much time on computers

I'm not a mechanical engineer, but lower viscosity oil should improve gas mileage because parasitic drag on the engine's reciprocating parts (primarily the crank shaft and connecting rods) and oil pump is reduced, which in turn requires less energy to make power, which = improved gas mileage. How much improvement...... who knows????

Wayne S :D

This is one of those questions that can only be answered by "it all depends." Generally, a thinner oil will give slightly better fuel economy. This is one of the reasons that you see the trend toward lighter oils in new cars in the US, first xw-30 oils now xw-20 oils. I believe that the general rule is for every grade lighter you go, you will gain 1.5% in efficiency. Note that Mobil 1 0w-40 is one of the very few 40 weight oils that is certified as energy conserving by the API.

That said, the rules don't always hold true. Look at post by Jim Chow and the responses to his post on Bobistheoilguy.com. It appears that on some older vehicles you may get an increase in miliage from better sealing with a slightly heavier oil.